Northwestern Women Advance To National Quarterfinals

The offensive firepower of Northwestern has vaulted the Red Raiders into the quarterfinals of the State Farm-NAIA Division II Women’s Basketball National Championship for the fifth-straight season.

Kami Kuhlmann and Kendra De Jong proved too much for Jamestown (N.D.) in an 80-68 victory at the Tyson Events Center in the opening game of the second round on Friday morning.
Battle-tested Northwestern avenged a 64-62 loss to the Jimmies on November 5th. Kuhlmann stole the show with 19 first-half points and finished with 31 points, the highest point total by an individual so far in this year’s tournament. The junior guard made 12-of-21 shots from the field while pulling down nine rebounds and dishing out four assists. Kendra De Jong notched a double double with 15 points and 11 rebounds.

Jamestown was led by a pair of 10-point scorers in Amber Ramlo and Kellie Schuneman. The Jimmies shot just 24.6 percent and allowed the Red Raiders to shoot 49.1 percent.

Northwestern is moving on to the quarterfinals where it will face either Indiana Wesleyan or Friends Kansas on Saturday at 1 p.m. The Red Raiders are now 36-6 in 11 appearances at the national tournament.



Dordt Students, Staff Help Victims Of Branson Tornado

An EF2 tornado left mounds of rubble and piles of work to do in Branson, Missouri last week.

Because Dordt College’s men’s basketball team would be playing nationals there, college personnel knew that alumni and friends of the college attending the games might want to help in the cleanup.

The college coordinated its efforts with the First Presbyterian Church in Branson. On Wednesday, March 7, 25 volunteers showed up in the morning of the Dordt/Cal-Maritime game and worked in two different locations. On Thursday, March 8, the group more than doubled to 55 volunteers, but heavy rain caused the work to end earlier than expected. Read more

Comets To Play For 1A Title

The Boyden Hull Comets have earned a spot in the Class 1A Boys State Basketball Championship Game as they knocked off defending State Champion Storm Lake St Mary’s Thursday afternoon 69-61. The Comets will take a 25-2 record into the finals while the Panthers suffered their first loss of the year and finish at 26-1.

Boyden Hull led at the end of the first quarter 19-14. The Comets found themselves down by five with 3:30 to go in the half. A 10 point swing from that point on would put Boyden Hull up at halftime 35-30. in the third quarter Boyden Hull led by 11 points at the4:24 mark and were up 50-42 heading into the final 8 minutes of the game.

With: 49 seconds to go in the fourth quarter Kennedy Drey hit a three point bucket to pull the Panthers to within three points at 63-60. Boyden Hull would put the game away at the free throw line going 6-of-6 at the line with Taylor Francis hitting the first four and Brant Van Roekel hitting the final two as Boyden Hull got the win 69-61.

The free throw line was the difference in the ballgame as the Comets shot 70 percent from the line converting 19-of-27 chances while Storm Lake St Mary’s converted 5-of-8 opportunities at the charity stripe.

Bryce Moss had a game high 22 points for the Comets. Francis was next with 18 followed by Van Roekel and Nathan Alexander with 13 points each. Storm Lake St Mary’s was led by Luke Lenhart with 17 points and Kennedy Drey with 11.

In the other semi final Danville toppedNodawayValley 65-49 to advance to the final. The Bears opened with a 17-15 first quarter lead and were up 33-29 at halftime. The game was still close after the third quarter with Danville in front 48-43 but the Bears outscored Nodaway Valley 19-6 in the final quarter to put the game away.

The Bears had three players in double figures getting 25 points and 13 rebounds from Steven Soukup. Collin Bartsch hit for 14 and Michael Soukup added 13.

Danville fell to Storm Lake St Mary’s in last years 1A Championship Game. The Bears are undefeated at 27-0. Boyden Hull comes into the Championship Game at 25-2.

We’ll bring you the coverage Friday night on KIWA FM 105.3. Pregame is set for 5:55 with the opening tip scheduled for6:05.

Latest Northwest Iowa Fishing Report Out

Storm Lake (including Little Storm Lake)

Fishing is slow and the lake is about half open. Now is traditionally a good time to catch catfish. Special walleye regulations at Storm Lake are three walleye per day, all fish between 17 and 22 inches must be released, and only one walleye over 22 inches may be kept.


Big Spirit Lake

Walleye season is closed.  Most people are venturing off Marble Beach. A few panfish are being caught in Anglers Bay.


West Okoboji Lake

The landings are beginning to look a little ruff and some water was sitting on the ice.  Sight fishing has slowed with stained water in some areas due to recent rains and warmer weather.   Bluegill – Fair: Bluegill action has been fair with most of the fish being caught in Emerson and Millers bays as well as the north end of the lake.  Use small jigs and light line for best results.


Due to recent weather the ice has been sloppy and is starting to degrade near shore areas. The areas with current have been affected the most. Some lakes are starting to open in areas where aerators and geese activity have been high.  For more information on fishing in northwest Iowa, contact the district office at the Spirit Lake hatchery at 712-336-1840.


City of Sheldon to Save About $160,000 With Reduced Interest Rate on Loan

With the cooperation of the four banks in Sheldon, the City will save about $160,000 in interest on an existing loan.

In 2007 Sheldon borrowed 1.9 million dollars from the banks to pay the city’s obligation to the Lewis and Clark Water project. The interest rate on the loan was set at 4.59 percent. However because interest rates have gone down since that time, the banks have agreed to amend that rate to 2.47 percent for the remainder of the loan period. City Manager Scott Wynja told the city council this should save the city about $160,000.

The Council also approved the sale of property to Evelyn Kats for one dollar. The property involved is a two and a half foot strip on the East edge of the former Pucci’s property. Part of the adjacent Kats building is situated on that strip of land.

In other business at their Wednesday meeting the Council approved the preliminary and final plats of the Runger’s 4th Addition, approved rezoning of the property just west of the new Hy-vee store from light industrial to arterial commercial, and approved rezoning the former Data Dimensions property on Western Avenue to Residential Multiple. This will make it possible for Crossroads Community Church to purchase and use this building for their church.

And the council approved the third reading of an ordinance which will make it legal to use golf carts on City Streets. People who wish to drive a golf cart on city streets must get a permit at the city office and abide by all provisions of the ordinance.