Vehicles Driven By Hull Woman, Sanborn Man Damaged In Accident Near Doon

The Lyon County Sheriff’s Department investigated a two-vehicle accident which occurred in Doon, Iowa at approximately 11:52 a.m. on Monday, June 4, 2012.

Joy Hurst (age 34) of Hull, Iowa was operating a 2011 Dodge Journey northbound in the 400-block of Gere Avenue. John Pedersen (age 30) of Sanborn, Iowa was operating a 1990 Oldsmobile Delta 88 southbound on Gere Avenue. Pedersen began to make a left turn and then was struck by Hurst’s vehicle.

The 2011 Dodge owned by Hurst received approximately $1500 in damages and the 1990 Oldsmobile owned by Pedersen received approximately $1000 in damages.

Pedersen was cited for Failure to Yield upon Left Turn, a simple misdemeanor.

Car Driven By Beaver Creek Teen Damaged In Accident

Rock Rapids, Iowa — On June 1,2012 at 11:15 P.M. David Carr age 17, of 486 121st Street Beaver Creek, Mn was driving a 2005 Pontiac G6, owned by Mandy Heintz, and was westbound on Highway 9 and was attempting to turn north onto Garfield Avenue. That intersection is a T intersection and no road runs to the north. Carr turned the corner at a high rate of speed and struck the utility pole. He then left the scene. The REC pole sustained approximately $500.00 in damage. The vehicle sustained about $1,500 in damage.

McDowell Gets Nod For Republican Nomination For O’Brien County Supervisors, District 3

Primghar, Iowa — Nancy McDowell appears to be the Republican nominee for O’Brien County Supervisors, District 3. She defeated Edmund Stephens and Rob Hegenbarth for the nomination. The totals were 79.86 percent for Nancy McDowell, Edmond Stephens had 10.5 percent, and Rob Hegenbarth had 9.58 percent.

For the Democratic nomination for District 3, Dennis Brower appears to have received the nod, with 52.23 percent to 47.77 percent for Duane Koistra.

Click here for the full O’Brien County Primary Results.

Jeff Smith Defeats Kevin Wolfswinkel For Republican Nomination For State Representative District 1

Northwest Iowa — Jeff Smith has defeated challenger Kevin Wolfswinkel for the Republican nomination for State Representative, District 1. It’s a new district, made up of Lyon, Osceola, and Dickinson counties in northwest Iowa. When the lines were re-drawn, Jeff Smith, who lives in the Iowa Great Lakes area was the only incumbent living in the district. So while Smith has been a State Representative, he had never represented two-thirds of his district.

Osceola County resident Kevin Wolfswinkel decided to run, telling voters that he was the more conservative of the candidates.

Voters have selected Smith over Wolfswinkel by 54.89 to 44.97 percent.

The other state and federal races were pretty much no contest in our area.

Republican Congressman Steve King has pretty much tied up the Republican nomination for District 4. Democrat Christie Vilsack has done the same for the Democratic nomination.

State Senator Randy Feenstra ran unopposed for the Republican nomination for District 2, as did Dan Huseman for Representative District 3 and Dwayne Alons for the Republican nomination for Representative, district 4.

Smit Defeats Anderson For Lyon County Auditor Nomination; Bos Defeats Vander Stoep For Sheriff Nomination

Rock Rapids, Iowa — Lyon County Deputy Auditor Jen Smit appears to have defeated former Lyon County Economic Development Director Glenn Anderson for the Republican nomination for Lyon County Auditor. Smit appears to have won by a margin of 81.34 percent to 18.66 percent. Current County Auditor Wayne Grooters is retiring at the end of his term.

Also retiring at the end of his term will be Lyon County Sheriff Blythe Bloemendaal. Unless another as-yet unknown candidate enters the race and wins in November, the new Sheriff of Lyon County will be Rick Bos. He defeated Chief Deputy Stewart Vander Stoep 50.13 percent to 49.76 percent. No word if there will be a re-count, but only 10 votes separated the two candidates.

Click here for the rest of the Lyon County results.

Weber Defeats Block For Republican Nomination For Osceola County Sheriff

Sibley, Iowa — In a hotly contested race in Osceola County, Incumbent Sheriff Doug Weber has defeated challenger Matt Block for the Republican nomination for Sheriff.

The Sheriff’s Office in Osceola County has been in the news lately in regard to a couple of high-profile federal cases — the first one involving the Sheriff and Paul and Alexander Dorr, who were denied weapons permits; and the second in which Osceola County Deputy Dan Minten offered to testify against Weber while Minten was on duty. The Sheriff lost both cases — but he has won the primary election tonight for the Republican nomination for Sheriff, 59 percent to 41 percent.

See the full Osceola County results by clicking here.