Bandmasters Performance Nearing For Orab Band

Sheldon, Iowa — Several weeks ago we told you that the Sheldon High School Band had been selected to perform at this year’s Iowa Bandmaster’s Association Convention in Des Moines, a week from this Friday.  Sheldon High School Band Director Cliff St. Clair says that, while the band members are excited about that opportunity, they are more focused on their Tuesday (May 3rd) evening Spring Concert, and Large Group Contest this Saturday (May 7th).

Sheldon High School Band Director Cliff St. Clair
Sheldon High School Band Director Cliff St. Clair

St. Clair says the band has been putting in extra-length practices, since their performance for the Iowa Bandmasters will run 45 minutes, nearly twice as long as their normal concerts.

He says the band is preparing to face the single toughest audience for whom they will perform all year.

The Orab Band is the only Class 2A band appearing at the Bandmasters Association Convention this year.  In fact, there were no bands in Class 3A that were accepted to play for the 2016 convention.  The Sheldon band is also the lone band from this part of the state, in any class, that earned the right to perform.

St Clair says the Sheldon High School Band will perform for the Iowa Bandmasters Association Convention at 1:00 pm, Friday, May 13th, at the Downtown Marriott in Des Moines.

Other bands chosen to perform at this years Iowa Bandmasters Association Convention include:
4A – Ames High School  – Chris Ewan, director
3A – None selected
2A – Sheldon High School – Cliff St. Clair, director
1A – Springville High School – Jennifer Adams, director
Middle School 4A/3A – Northwest Junior H.S. – Jane Triplett and Kevin Brown, directors
Middle School 2A/1A – Clarinda Community School – Marty Aldrich, director
Elementary – Excelsior Middle School – Steve King, director
Jazz – Johnston High School – Jeff Robilliard, director
Jazz – Southeast Junior H.S. – Bill Pringle, director
Cedar Rapids Jazz Big Band – Al Naylor, director
Eastern Iowa Brass Band – Alex Beamer, director
Graceland University – Erin Bodnar, director

Previous ArticleNext Article