Farmers In Top Tier Of Counties In NW Iowa Affected By Ice Storm Eligible For Loans

usda_logoWashington, DC — Farmers in the top tier of counties in northwest Iowa affected by the ice storm got good news on Tuesday.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated four Iowa counties as part of a Presidential Major Disaster Designation. Eligible family farmers with qualifying production and physical losses caused by severe winter storms from April 9n 2013 through April 11, 2013 may be eligible for low-interest emergency loans.

The Presidential Major Disaster Designation has been issued for five Minnesota counties as the primary disaster area. Four Iowa counties are contiguous to this designated disaster area, making these producers also potentially eligible for program based on this designation. The contiguous counties are: Dickinson, Emmet, Lyon, and Osceola.

The Farm Service Agency may make Emergency Loans to eligible family farmers which will enable them to return to their normal operations if they sustained qualifying losses resulting from natural disaster. Physical loss loans may be made to eligible farmers to enable them to repair or replace damaged or destroyed physical property, including livestock losses, essential to the success of the farming operation. Examples of property commonly affected include; essential farm buildings, fixtures to real estate, equipment, livestock, perennial crops, fruit and nut bearing trees, and harvested or stored crops.

For more information on eligibility and how to apply, farmers are to contact the Farm Service Agency in their county.

This is in addition to the federal disaster declaration, which is to help in repairing of damage to public property and assist in storm cleanup. That declaration covered Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, and Sioux Counties.

Previous ArticleNext Article