Feenstra Named “Champion of Renewable Fuels”

Randy Feenstra 2Northwest, Iowa — A state legislator from Hull is one of 19 Iowa lawmakers who have been designated as “Champions of Renewable Fuels” by the Iowa Renewable Fuels Association PAC.

Iowa District 2 State Senator Randy Feenstra was one of 8 Iowa State Senators, and 11 Representatives to be named “Champions of Renewable Fuels” for 2016.

The IFRA PAC Board says they awarded state legislators seeking reelection who maintained a clear voting record supporting renewable fuels, and displaying leadership for renewable fuels in the Iowa Legislature.

IRFA PAC Treasurer Denny Mauser says the legislators named to the list helped grow Iowa’s leadership in renewable fuels production and use by working tirelessly to strengthen Iowa’s economy, air quality, and rural communities by improving opportunities for ethanol and biodiesel.

State Senators joining Feenstra on the list include:
District 28 Senator Michael Breitbach
District 12 Senator Mark Costello
District 44 Senator Tom Courtney
District 30 Senator Jeff Danielson
District 8 Senator Mike Gronstal
District 26 Senator Mary Jo Wilhelm
District 48 Senator Dan Zumbach

State Representatives on the “Champions of Renewable Fuels” list incluude:
District 50 Rep. Pat Grassley
District 43 Rep. Chris Hagenow
District 46 Rep. Lisa Heddens
District 96 Rep. Lee Hein
District 74 Rep. Dave Jacoby
District 2 Rep. Megan Jones
District 89 Rep. Jim Lykam
District 52 Rep. Todd Prichard
District 23 Rep. Dave Sieck
District 71 Rep. Mark Smith
District 54 Rep. Linda Upmeyer

According to a recent IRFA study, Iowa’s renewable fuels industry accounts for more than $4.6 billion of Iowa GDP, generates $2.3 billion in income for Iowa households and supports more than 43,000 jobs throughout all sectors of the Iowa economy. Read the full study by clicking here.

Iowa is the nation’s leader in renewable fuels production. Iowa has 43 ethanol refineries capable of producing 4 billion gallons annually, including nearly 55 million gallons of annual cellulosic ethanol production capacity.  In addition, Iowa has 12 biodiesel facilities with the capacity to produce more than 315 million gallons annually.

Previous ArticleNext Article