Iowa Governor Declares NW Iowa Counties Disaster Areas Due To Ice Storm

Date posted - April 12, 2013

ice on branch freezing rainDes Moines, Iowa — Ten counties in our area have been declared disaster areas by the governor due to the ice storm. A point of clarification — we also have a story right now about parts of Northwest Iowa being designated disaster areas by the USDA, due to a late freeze and drought during this time LAST year. These are two different situations and two different disaster declarations.

Iowa Governor Terry Branstad has issued a proclamation of disaster emergency in response to severe weather that impacted ten counties in northwest Iowa.

Counties included in the proclamation are Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth and Sioux.

Beginning April 9, damaging winds, heavy rains, thunderstorms and freezing rains caused damage to public and private property, power outages from downed power lines and poles, and a large amount of debris. Much of this cleanup continues, and some communities and residents are still without power.

The Governor’s proclamation allows state resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of these storms, including for removal of debris and wreckage on publicly or privately owned land that may threaten public health and safety, or public and private property.

A copy of the proclamation of disaster emergency can be found at

Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Sheldon Broadcasting Company, Inc. appreciates your comments that abide by the following guidelines:
1. Avoid profanities or foul language.
2. Disagree, but avoid ad hominem (personal) attacks.
3. Threats are treated seriously and will be reported to law enforcement.
4. Spam and advertising are not permitted in the comments area.
These guidelines are very general and cannot cover every possible situation. Please don't assume that Sheldon Broadcasting Company, Inc. or its advertisers agrees with or otherwise endorses any particular comment. We reserve the right to filter or delete comments or to deny posting privileges entirely at our discretion. Please note that comments are reviewed by the selected staff and may not be posted immediately. If you feel your comment was filtered inappropriately, please email

Back to:Iowa Governor Declares NW Iowa Counties Disaster Areas Due To Ice Storm