King: Congress’s Job To Pass the National Right to Work Act

Congressman Steve King OfficialWashington, D.C. — Congressman Steve King has introduced the National Right to Work Act in Congress.

The bill would repeal the provisions in federal law that make “forced dues” the default labor law of the country. The forced dues provisions of the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA) and the Railway Labor Act (RLA) allow unions to extract dues from nonunion workers as a condition of employment. Twenty-four states have opted out of the forced dues clauses, but it remains the default law of the land. The National Right to Work Act was introduced with 57 original cosponsors (full list below). King says if the bill passed, it would help the economy.

Mark Mix, the President of the National Right to Work Committee says they are extremely pleased that Congressman King has introduced the National Right to Work Act, intensifying a growing debate about labor law and worker freedom in our country.

He says, “This legislation would enshrine the common-sense principle – already enforced in nearly half of U.S. states – that no worker should be compelled to join or pay dues to a union just to get or keep a job. A National Right to Work Act enshrines worker freedom while providing significant economic benefits for workers. The National Right to Work Committee is mobilizing its 2.8 million members to call on their Congressperson to support the National Right to Work Act.”

Full List of Original Cosponsors (57):

Bachmann, Michele
Bachus, Spencer
Barr, Andy
Barton, Joe
Black, Diane
Bonner, Jo
Boustany, Charles
Brady, Kevin
Broun, Paul
Bucshon, Larry
Chabot, Steve
Cole, Tom
Cotton, Tom
Cramer, Kevin
Crawford, Rick
Duncan, Jeff (SC)
Duncan, John (TN)
Fincher, Stephen
Fleming, John
Foxx, Virginia
Gardner, Cory
Gingrey, Phil
Gohmert, Louie
Goodlatte, Bob
Gosar, Paul
Graves, Tom
Griffin, Tim
Griffith, Morgan
Harper, Greg
Harris, Andy
Huelskamp, Tim
Huizenga, Bill
Jenkins, Lynn
Jordan, Jim
LaMalfa, Doug
Lamborn, Doug
Long, Billy
Lummis, Cynthia
McClintock, Tom
Meadows, Mark
Mulvaney, Mick
Nugent, Richard
Nunnelee, Alan
Palazzo, Steve
Perry, Scott
Pittenger, Robert
Poe, Ted
Roe, Phil
Ross, Denis
Salmon, Matt
Scalise, Steve
Schweikert, David
Stockman, Steve
Walberg, Tim
Westmoreland, Lynn
Wilson, Joe
Yoho, Ted

Previous ArticleNext Article