Municipal Election Results

Northwest Iowa — Voters in Iowa selected municipal candidates and decided on local issues on Tuesday.
vote voting ballot
Sheldon voters approved a 2% increase in the city’s hotel motel tax by 76.6%. The tax will begin to be collected at the state maximum of 7% on January 1st.

For the George City Council there were six people running for three positions. Apparent winners were Ande Bruinsma, Kary Conaway, and Norman Riemersma.

Larchwood and Lester voters were both asked if their city should be authorized to establish a municipal gas utility by constructing the necessary facilities for the operation of a natural gas distribution system. Larchwood voters approved it by 87 percent, and Lester by nearly 84 percent.

In Rock Rapids four people ran for three positions on the City Council. Unofficial winners were incumbents Marlene Bowers and Scott Schneidermann and challenger Steve Wells.

In Orange City four people ran for three available positions on the council. Winners were Chad Oolman, Tony Vande Brake, and Earl Woudstra. Orange City voters were also asked if the city should change the term of members of the library board of trustees to four years. That passed by almost 94 percent.

In Sioux Center voters were asked if the city should issue $4 million in General Obligation Capital Loan Notes for “aiding, planning and undertaking an urban renewal project which will involve the study, planning, design and construction of the US Highway #75 Enhanced Four Lane Improvement Project.” The majority of voters liked the plan, but it needed 60 percent to pass, and only received 56.45 percent.

In Sibley, voters were asked whether to change the composition of the City Library Board of Trustees to allow one bona fide citizen and resident of an unincorporated area of Osceola County over the age of eighteen to be qualified to be appointed to the Library Board of Trustees. The measure passed, with about 80 percent of voters voting “yes”.

Full (unofficial) results:
2015 Sioux County Unofficial Results-Cities under Runoff Ordinance (1)

2015 Sioux County Unofficial Results

Write-in votes for Boyden 2015

Chatsworth Write-In votes 2015

O’Brien County 2015 Unofficial Municipal Election Results

Osceola County 2015 Unofficial Municipal Election Results

Lyon County 2015 Unofficial Municipal Election Results

Previous ArticleNext Article