President Approves Disaster Declaration For Other Parts Of Iowa; Governor Submits Request For NW Iowa

Washington, DC and Des Moines, Iowa — The president has approved a federal disaster declaration for nine Iowa counties and a second request, for a disaster declaration involving northwest Iowa is in the works. RR FLOOD 2014 fairgounds long angle

Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division spokesperson, Stephanie Bond, says the federal declaration that was approved covers Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Mills, Montgomery, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Taylor and Wayne counties.

The federal disaster declaration was announced Monday, the same day the governor asked that more counties be added to the list.

Click or tap the play button above or this link to listen.

(as she says)”Governor Branstad has asked for another presidential disaster declaration for 26 more counties,” Bond says. “This time it was for a storm that began on June 14th. The presidential declaration that we already got was for storms on June three and four.”

Bond says it may take a little time to find out if those new counties get the federal designation.

Click or tap the play button above or this link to listen.

(as she says)”It might be a couple weeks or a month before we hear. I know the disaster declaration that we just had, the request was put in on July 7th,” Bond says.

The state has to assess all the damage and then let the federal officials know so they can determine if the amount of damage warrants a federal designation. Bond believes the totals will prove the case for the new counties.

Click or tap the play button above or this link to listen.

(as she says)”We’re very hopeful, the state really got pummeled in June with several sets of storms that rolled through and they just kind of continued one on top of another. And as a result we had plenty of damage from wind and tornadoes and flooding. So yes, we are really hopeful that we will get that designation,” Bond says.

Click or tap the play button above or this link to listen.

For emergency work, repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities, and it also might include debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair of damaged property, and loans needed by communities for essential government functions,” Bond says.

The 26 counties in the new request are: Allamakee, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Fayette, Franklin, Hancock, Humboldt, Ida, Kossuth, Lyon, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sac, Sioux, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, and Wright.

Radio Iowa assisted with this story.

Previous ArticleNext Article