President Obama Approves Presidential Disaster Area Declaration For 47 Iowa Counties

obama officialDes Moines, Iowa — Iowa Governor Terry Branstad has received word that President Obama approved his request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 47 Iowa counties impacted by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that began May 19, 2013.

In our four-county northwest Iowa area, O’Brien, Sioux, and Lyon Counties are included.

The Governor sent the request for the declaration on June 19 in response to significant damage that was caused by heavy rains, thunderstorms and flooding in the counties between May 19 and June 14, 2013.

The declaration by the President will provide federal funding to the declared counties under the Public Assistance Program. A Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs, some of which are matched by state programs, and designed to help public entities and select non-profits. Public Assistance funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities and may include debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair of damaged public property, loans needed by communities for essential government functions and grants for public schools. The Governor also received notification that the Presidential Disaster Declaration includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state.

The counties included in the declaration are: Appanoose, Benton, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Davis, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Hardin, Henry, Ida, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lyon, Mahaska, Marshall, Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, O’Brien, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Poweshiek, Sac, Sioux, Story, Tama, Wapello, Webster, Winnebago, and Wright.

Previous ArticleNext Article