Primary Election Is Today: Find Contested Races And Polling Places Here

Northwest Iowa — Today is election day for the 2014 Primary Election in Iowa. vote voting ballot

The General Election is November 4th.

Among several offices and candidates, there are a few contested races in the primary, but in northwest Iowa, they are all on the Republican side. Democrats will have their primary too, but all the candidates in our area are running unopposed in their own party.

The biggest ticket race is that of US Senator. Five Republicans are vying for the seat. They are Sam Clovis, Joni Ernst, Mark Jacobs, Scott Schaben, and Matt Whitaker. This is the Senate seat that will be up for grabs upon the retirement of Senator Tom Harkin.

There are also two Republicans vying for the Governor’s chair. Incumbent Terry Branstad will face challenger Tom Hoefling. Hoefling ran for President of the United States in 2012 as the America’s Party candidate.

In State Representative District one – which in our four-county area includes Lyon and Osceola Counties, three men are running for the Republican nomination. They are Kevin Klaassen, John Wills, and Kevin Wolfswinkel. The district also includes the northern two thirds of Dickinson County.

In the individual counties, there are some contested Republican races as well.

In O’Brien County, incumbent Kurt Brown faces challenger Susan Smith for the Republican nomination for the office of County Recorder.

In Sioux County, incumbent Arlyn Kleinwolterink faces Jerry Muilenburg for the Republican nomination for the Board of Supervisors, District 2 seat.

While Osceola County doesn’t have any contested party races, Lyon County has two of them. For the District 5 Board of Supervisors chair, Incumbent Kirk Peters will face Todd Huisman for the nomination. There are four people vying for the right to be the Republican nominee for Lyon County Treasurer. Current County Treasurer Richard Heidloff is not running. Wanting to take his place are Russell A. Hopp, Curt Nelson, Lisa Rockhill, and Gene Serck.

All polls in the state are open until 9:00 PM tonight.

Listen to election results tonight on KIWA and look for them at as well.

Here are the polling places as we have them:

[table id=7 /]

Previous ArticleNext Article