News, Top Stories

School Board Election Results

Northwest Iowa — Tuesday was school board election day in Iowa.

In the Sibley-Ocheyedan School District, Tasha Bos appears to have retained her District 1 chair. District 3 director Tim Helmers and District 4 director Tracy Van Diepen did not file papers. Jamie Arend ran unopposed for Helmers’ seat and Greg Atherton ran unopposed for Van Diepen’s seat. Bos had 112 votes. Arend received 115, and Atherton had 117.

In the Harris-Lake Park School District, Chad Hibma has been elected to Mike Bosma’s District 2 position with 28 votes. Bosma didn’t file papers. Tim Harmon was re-elected to his District 4 position with 27 votes. He also ran unopposed.

Sheldon School Board At-Large member Randy Merley did not file papers. Lori Richards ran unopposed for that chair, and received 67 votes. District 1 member Susan Rensink also ran unopposed and was re-elected with 63 votes.

At Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn, Andrew Schierholz ran unopposed for Lynn Younie’s District 2 seat, and was elected with 134 votes. No candidates filed papers for District 3 Director Marne Schiphoff’s chair. Chad Lyman received the most write-ins with 26, so has the job if he wants it. Fourteen people wrote-in Tim Brinkman, and four people wrote in Schiphoff’s name. Vollink ran unopposed and received 123 votes.

In the South O’Brien District, no one filed papers for the District 3 chair held by Kevin Nelson, but he was elected anyway with 18 votes. District 6 Director Gina Paulsen ran unopposed and was elected with 59 votes. DJ Weber ran unopposed for District 1 Director Darrell Rehder’s seat and was elected with 59 votes.

In the Boyden-Hull School District, Mark Nilles was unopposed and was re-elected to his District 1 position with 63 votes. Gina Woelber was unopposed for her District 3 position and was re-elected with 64 votes, and Laura Woelber ran unopposed for her District 2 position and was re-elected with 64 votes as well.

At MOC-Floyd Valley, Hermencgildo Reyes Rodriguez ran unopposed for the District 3 seat held by Gerald Van Roekel and was elected by 96 votes. District 5 Director Christine Koerselman ran unopposed and was elected with 102 votes.

The Director-At-Large seats in the Rock Valley Community School District were filled by Shelli Rens, Steven Van Den Top, and Terry Van Maanen. All three were elected by 56, 54, and 55 votes, respectively. Van Den Top and Van Maanen were re-elected, and Rens will fill Al Vermeer’s chair.

In the Sioux Center district, Jerod Work was the only incumbent of four people running for one of three at-large positions up for election. Work was re-elected with 233 votes. Also elected was LoriAnne Anderson with 267 votes, and Nathan Bullock with 180 votes. Joshua Tacke’s 158 votes were not enough to elect him.

At West Sioux, the District 1 chair will continue to be filled by Russ Coons, who ran unopposed and received 236 votes. No one filed papers for the the District 2 chair held currently by Gary Witt, but Witt won anyway with 100 votes. Rachell Schurman received 33 votes for that position. The District 4 chair will continue to be filled by Tom Sellers, who ran unopposed and received 237 votes. The at-large chair held by Ken Koch will continue to be. He also ran unopposed and received 202 votes.

The West Sioux ballot Public Measure “A,” which asked if the school board should be able to levy a physical plant and equipment tax not exceeding $1.34 per $1000 of assessed valuation also passed by a measure of 60.74% yes to 39.26% no.

Two school at-large board members were re-elected at Central Lyon. Both ran unopposed. Scott Postma received 105 votes and Keri Davis received 108.

At George-Little Rock District 2 Director Wade Netten ran unopposed and received 93 votes. Kristi Landis ran unopposed for District 3 Director Ryan Klingenberg’s seat. Landis received 103 votes.

In the West Lyon School District, District 1 incumbent Director Troy Bauder barely edged out challenger Vince Smith, 89 votes to 87. In the race for District 2 Director Kyle Knobloch’s seat, Jennifer Jenson appears to have beat out Mark Timmerman, 53 votes to 40. District 5 Director Scott Lee ran unopposed and was elected with 26 votes.

Previous ArticleNext Article