School Board Filing Period Now Open

Northwest Iowa — This Monday is the first day to take out papers to run for public school board positions in Iowa. The election is on Tuesday, September 12th. There are board members at each area school whose terms will be expiring this fall. For example:

Two members of Sheldon School Board have terms that will expire this fall. They are At-Large member Randy Merley, and District 1 member Susan Rensink.

At Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn, the school board seats of District 2 Director Lynn Younie, District 3 Director Marne Schiphoff, and District 5 director Scott Vollink are all up for election.

In the South O’Brien District, the terms of District 3 Director Kevin Nelson, District 6 Director Gina Paulsen, and District 1 Director Darrell Rehder are up for election.

In the Sibley-Ocheyedan School District, the District 1 chair held now by Tasha Bos will be up for election, as will the District 3 chair held by Tim Helmers and the District 4 chair, held by Tracy Van Diepen.

In the Harris-Lake Park School District, Mike Bosma’s District 2 position is up for election, as is Tim Harmon’s district 4 position.

In the Boyden-Hull School District, the District 1 position held by Mark Nilles, the District 3 position held by Gina Woelber, and the District 2 position held by Laura Woelber are all up for election.

At MOC-Floyd Valley, the school board terms held by District 3 Director Gerald Van Roekel and District 5 Director Christine Koerselman are expiring.

The Director-At-Large seats held by Al Vermeer, Terry Van Maanen, and Steve Van Den Top in the Rock Valley Community School District will be up for election.

In the Sioux Center district, three at-large positions are up for election. They are those of Jerod Work, Lori Zomermaand, and Dale Kraayenbrink.

At West Sioux, the District 2 chair, held by Gary Witt; the District 4 chair, held by Tom Sellers, and the at-large chair held by Ken Koch are up for election.

Two school board members’ terms are expiring at Central Lyon. They are the terms of two at-large members: Scott Postma and Keri Davis.

Two school board members’ terms are also expiring at George-Little Rock — those of District 2 Director Wade Netten and District 3 Director Ryan Klingenberg.

In the West Lyon School District, the terms of District 1 Director Troy Bauder, District 2 Director Kyle Knobloch, and District 5 Director Scott Lee are expiring.
Since it’s early in the filing period, it’s not known yet which school board members will file for re-election.

For the most part, school board members serve four-year terms. The deadline for filing papers is August 3rd, and paperwork can be obtained from the county auditor’s office, each school office, and on the Iowa Secretary of State’s website.

Previous ArticleNext Article