School Election Is Tuesday

Northwest Iowa — This Tuesday, September 12th is the day for school board elections. There are board members at each area school whose terms will be expiring this fall. For example:

Two members of Sheldon School Board have terms that will expire this fall. They are At-Large member Randy Merley, and District 1 member Susan Rensink. Rensink is running, but Merley did not file papers for his chair. Running unopposed for that position is Lori Richards.

At Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn, the school board seats of District 2 Director Lynn Younie, District 3 Director Marne Schiphoff, and District 5 director Scott Vollink are all up for election. Younie did not file papers. Running unopposed for that chair is Andrew Schieholz. Schiphoff did not file papers either, and no candidates filed papers to run for her position, so the winner will likely be a write-in. Vollink filed papers, and he too is running unopposed.

In the South O’Brien District, the terms of District 3 Director Kevin Nelson, District 6 Director Gina Paulsen, and District 1 Director Darrell Rehder are up for election. Nelson did not file papers, and neither did any other candidate for his chair. Paulsen is running for re-election unopposed. Rehder did not file papers. Running unopposed for his chair is DJ Weber.

In the Sibley-Ocheyedan School District, the District 1 chair held by Tasha Bos is up for election, as is the District 3 chair held by Tim Helmers and the District 4 chair, held by Tracy Van Diepen. Bos filed papers for re-election, but Jamie Arend is running unopposed for Helmers’ seat and Greg Atherton is running unopposed for Van Diepen’s seat.

In the Harris-Lake Park School District, Mike Bosma’s District 2 position is up for election, as is Tim Harmon’s district 4 position. Bosma did not file papers to run. Chad Hibma is running unopposed for his seat. Harmon did file papers and is also running unopposed.

In the Boyden-Hull School District, the District 1 position held by Mark Nilles, the District 3 position held by Gina Woelber, and the District 2 position held by Laura Woelber are all up for election, and all three are running for re-election, unopposed.

At MOC-Floyd Valley, the school board terms held by District 3 Director Gerald Van Roekel and District 5 Director Christine Koerselman are expiring. Koerselman is running unopposed for re-election, while Hermencgildo Reyes Rodriguez is running unopposed for Van Roekel’s seat.

The Director-At-Large seats held by Al Vermeer, Terry Van Maanen, and Steve Van Den Top in the Rock Valley Community School District are up for election. Van Maanen and Van Den Top are running. Shelli Rens is running unopposed for Vermeer’s seat.

In the Sioux Center district, three at-large positions are up for election. They are those of Jerod Work, Lori Zomermaand, and Dale Kraayenbrink. Work is running for re-election, but Zomermaand and Kraayenbrink did not file papers. Besides Work, running for the at-large positions are LoriAnne Andersen, Nathan Bullock, and Joshua Tacke. Three of the four will receive a post on the school board.

At West Sioux, the District 1 chair, held by Russ Coons, the District 2 chair, held by Gary Witt; the District 4 chair, held by Tom Sellers, and the at-large chair held by Ken Koch are up for election. Witt has not filed papers, and no one has filed papers to run for his chair. Koch, Sellers, and Coons have filed papers for re-election. Also on the West Sioux ballot will be Public Measure “A,” which asks if the school board should be able to levy a physical plant and equipment tax not exceeding $1.34 per $1000 of assessed valuation.

Two school board members’ terms are expiring at Central Lyon. They are the terms of two at-large members: Scott Postma and Keri Davis. Both have filed for re-election.

Two school board members’ terms are also expiring at George-Little Rock — those of District 2 Director Wade Netten and District 3 Director Ryan Klingenberg. Klingenberg did not file papers. Running unopposed for his seat is Kristi Landis.

In the West Lyon School District, the terms of District 1 Director Troy Bauder, District 2 Director Kyle Knobloch, and District 5 Director Scott Lee are expiring. Bauder filed papers for his seat, as did challenger Vince Smith. Knobloch did not file papers. Running for his seat will be both Jennifer Jenson and Mark Timmerman. Lee will run unopposed for the District 5 seat.

Polling hours vary by location, but as a general rule, if there is a contested race or a ballot question, polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m., if not, the hours are generally from noon to 8 p.m. Find your polling place at

Previous ArticleNext Article