Sibley-Ocheyedan Is 2013 State Winner Of Character Counts Program In School Division

Sibley Ocheyedan High SchoolSibley, Iowa — A local school is a statewide winner in the Character Counts in Iowa Program this year.

The Character Counts in Iowa program singles out about a dozen people and organizations every year as standard bearers for the program. They represent the six pillars of character — Caring, Citizenship, Fairness, Respect, Responsibility and Trustworthiness. Spokeswoman Amy Smit says the winners for 2013 are being announced this week and they hail from all over Iowa. They’ll be honored at a conference in Des Moines in August.

(As above) The Youth Award winner is Sarah Wilson, a 14-year-old from Eagle Grove; the Educator Award goes to Doug Coulter from Pella; the School Award winner is Sibley-Ocheyedan Elementary in Sibley and the Citizen of Character Award winner is Tito Parker from Sioux City.

Other winners include — Community Service: Lauren Larson of Iowa City; Business/Organization, Paws & Effect of Des Moines; while the Partner of the Year is UnityPoint Health. See the full list at:

Previous ArticleNext Article