Results in for NCC KIWA Thunder Road Race

thunder road race winners

The Northwest Iowa Community College Foundation along with the KIWA Radio Stations are proud to announce the results of the second Annual Thunder Road Race. Over one hundred and twenty six people participated in the event with over three thousand dollars raised for student scholarships.






5K Results

Overall Male – 5K
Cory Logsdon Omaha, NE

Overall Female – 5K
Sharon Tjepkes, Sibley, IA

Men’s 13 & Under
Brett Schouten, Sioux Center, IA
Andrew Schouten Sioux Center, IA
Micah Onken Ellsworth, MN

Women’s 13 & Under
Lauren Jurrens, George, IA
Lilly Henry, Rock Rapids, IA
Alexis Landis, George, IA

Men’s 14-19
Dawson Jacobsma, Sheldon, IA

Women’s 14-19
Brittney Lode, Spencer, IA

Men’s 20-29
Mario Salcedo, Sioux Center, IA
Brice Meendering, Sheldon, IA

Women’s 20-29
Rebecca Phillipsen, Fort Dodge, IA
Bridget Eich, Sheldon, IA
Kelsey Huskamp, Sioux Rapids, IA

Men’s 30-39
Nicholas Huff, Sheldon, IA
Lance Kille, Rock Rapids, IA
Aaron Wiekamp, Sanborn, IA

Women’s 30-39
Miranda Rasmussen, Webb, IA
Cindy Witt, Rock Rapids, IA
Rebecca Johnson, Webb, IA

Men’s 40-49
Steve Drenkow, Sheldon, IA
Brian Sayler, Sibley, IA
Anthony Bart, Sheldon, IA

Women’s 40-49

Kristin Kleinwolterink, Sheldon, IA
Deena Grause, Waterberry, NE
Shelia Lode, Sheldon, IA

Men’s 50-59
Bernardo Gonzalez, Boyden, IA
Mark Bohnet, Sanborn, IA
Daniel Devries, Sioux Center, IA

Women’s 50-59
Cheri Bosman, Sheldon, IA
Nancy Van Holland, Sioux Center, IA
Denise Bohnet, Sanborn, IA

Men’s 60-69
Jim Streufert, Sutherland, IA
Arlin Kreykes, Sheldon, IA

Women’s 60-69
Debbie Woelber, Hull, IA
Judie Smidstra, Rock Rapids, IA


10K Results
Overall Male – 10K
David Bohlken, Omaha, NE

Overall Women – 10K
Sheila Weaver, Sutherland, IA

Men’s 13 & Under
Tanner Dykstra, Sibley, IA

Men’s 14-19
Garrett Sayler, Sibley, IA

Men’s 20-29
Tanner Russ, Sioux Center, IA
Tyler Phillpsen, Fort Dodge, IA

Women’s 20-29
Deidre Mowry, Rock Rapids, IA

Men’s 30-39
Michael Huygens, Rock Rapids, IA

Women’s 30-39
Tonya Oolman, Sutherland, IA
Jenny Johnson, Sutherland, IA
Meg George, Sheldon, IA

Women’s 40-49
Lisa Van Maanen, Hull, IA
Tami Murray, rock Rapids, IA
Heidi Sayler, Sibley, IA

Men’s 50-59
Lowell Appleton, Sanborn, IA
Gary Gould, Milford, IA
Tom Snyder, Sanborn, IA

Women’s 50-59
Lori Stoll

Men’s 60-69
Larry Jerge, Spirit Lake, IA

Men’s 70-79
Sam Wiertzema, Boyden, IA
For a complete listing of the race results go to

Costume Contest Winners:
Best overall – Duck Dynasty: Brittney and Kerrie Lode, Spencer, Iowa
Best group – Things 1, 2, 3, and 4: Ryan, Jackie, Chris, and Caitlyn Freese, Sheldon, Iowa
Most creative- Big Bird and Cookie Monster: Pam Schweback, Matlock, Iowa and Barbara Besaw, Sheldon, Iowa
Most realistic – Where’s Waldo?: Dee and Arlin Kreykes, Sheldon, Iowa
Kids’ choice- Dinosaur: Wyatt Giese, Sheldon, Iowa

NCC and KIWA are already making plans for next year’s Thunder Road Race. Details will be announced on NCC’s website when they become available.

Previous ArticleNext Article