BHRV Wrestlers Finish 7th at State Dual Team Tournament

nighthawk logoThe Iowa State Wrestling Tournament opened a four day run in Des Moines Wednesday with the Dual Team Tournament. Boyden Hull Rock Valley represented the area in Class 2A. The Nighthawks who were the number seven seed fell to second seed Davenport Assumption 60-18 in the first round.

The Nighthawks 18 points came on pins. Getting falls were Marcus Jones at 170 pounds in 1:19, Ty Koldenhoven at 195 in 3:18 and Tyler Dolieslager at 220 in a time of 2:43.

From there it was on to the Consolation Semis where Boyden Hull Rock Valley met six seed Union La Porte City and were defeated 44-30. Getting wins for the Nighthawks were Marcus Jones at 170 with a fall in 2:52. At 182 Dallas Rozeboom won a 6-5 decision. At 195 Ty Koldenhoven won by fall in 1:40. At 220 Tyler Dolieslager recorded a pin in 3:51 and at 106 Samuel Klarenbeek recorded a pin in 1:17.

The Nighthawks faced Ballard for the 7th place match, winning by a 40-27 final to capture 7th place in the 2A Tournament. Getting pins for the Nighthawks were Dallas Rozeboom at 182 in :27 seconds, Ty Koldenhoven at 195 in :37 seconds, Tyler Dolieslager at 220 in 2:38, Gregory Palma at 285 in 1:42, Samuel Klarenbeek at 106 in 1:17 and Hunter Berkenpas at 152 in 3:08.

Boyden Hull Rock Valley finishes the year at 26-4 in dual meets. Along the way they won the Siouxland Conference title along with the Section Team Title and won their way through the Regional Dual Team Competition to earn their trip to State.

Individual competition at Wells Fargo Arena begins on Thursday and once again the KIWA listening area is sending a strong contingent to the State Tournament.

Class 2A

106 Samuel Klarenbeek of Boy-Hull/Rock Valley

113 Matt Henning of W Christian/U Christian

152 Hunter Berkenpas of Boy-Hull/Rock Valley
Dylon Van`t Hof of Sioux Center

160 Jacob Van Ginkel of W Christian/U Christian

170 Toby Maggert of Sheldon/South O’Brien

182 Dallas Rozeboom of Boy-Hull/Rock Valley

220 Bryce Kelleher of Sheldon/South O`Brien
Tyler Dolieslager of Boy-Hull/Rock Valley

Class 1A

106 Treyton Virtue of Central Lyon/GLR

113 Jose Montes of West Sioux, Hawarden

126 Colby McIntire of Central Lyon/GLR

182 Dylan Brockshus of Sibley-Ocheyedan

Previous ArticleNext Article