Comets, Orabs And Dutch Set For State

basketballThe Boys State Basketball Tournament opens Monday at Wells Fargo Arena. Northwest Iowa will be represented by the three co-champions of the Siouxland Conference for the second year in a row. Earning their second consecutive trips are Boyden Hull in Class 1A and MOC Floyd Valley in 3A. They are joined by the Sheldon Orabs who return to the Boys State Tourney for the first time since 1977.

The Comets hit the floor first as the number seven seed in 1A. They’ll take a 22-3 into the quarterfinals on Monday at 2pm as they go against second seed Lone Tree who comes in at 25-1. The defending 1A champs have four of their five starters averaging double figures. Riley Francis leads the way at 13.7 per game followed by Brandt Van Roekel at 12.3 per game, JC Koerselman with 12.1 per game and Colin Bolkema with an 11.9 points per game average.

The Lions have one player averaging double figures as Bryan Forbes averages 23.7 points per game.

Tip off Monday is set for 2pm with pregame at 1:54 on KIWA FM 105.3. We’ll stream from the website at
Sheldon opens tournament play on Tuesday with the tip off at 12:15. The Orabs are the third seed in 2A. They take a 22-3 record into their quarterfinal against 20-4 Pella Christian. The Eagles are the number 6 seed.

Sheldon has three players averaging double figures led by Dallas Ennema with 20.8 per game, James Gradert with 10.9 per game and Nate Oostra who has hit for 10 points per game.

The Orabs are returning to State for the first time since 1977 and open the quarterfinals at 12:15 Tuesday. We’ll bring you the coverage beginning with pregame at noon on KIWA FM 105.3. We’ll stream from the website at
MOC Floyd Valley is making back-to-back trips to the State Tournament and also open the tournament on Tuesday afternoon. The Dutch are the five seed in 3A coming in with a 20-4 record. Grinnell is the four seed also coming in at 20-4.

MOC Floyd Valley has three players averaging double figures on the year led by Justin Van Kalsbeek with 16.6. Levi Jensen is next at 11.6 per game followed by Trey Achterhoff at 10.3 points per game.

Grinnell features three players averaging double figures led by Eli Dunne with 14.1 per game, Joe Nowasell at 13.6 and Joe Schmidt at 12.3 points per game.

We’ll bring you the coverage on KIWA FM 105.3 with pregame at 1:54 for the scheduled 2pm tip off. Semis in 1A, 2A and 3A are all set for Thursday. We’ll follow the three Siouxland Conference Co-Champions throughout their tournament runs.

Previous ArticleNext Article