Five Area Basketball Coaches Earn Iowa Coaches Association Honors

Date posted - April 23, 2013

basketballThe Iowa Basketball Coaches Association Board of Directors met this past Saturday in Huxley. Coaches of the year, in their respective classes, were voted on at that time. Northwest Iowa’s strong showing at both the girl’s and boys State Tournaments resulted in numerous awards.

On the Girl’s side co-coaches Dan Kruse and Bruce Eckenrod of State Champion Central Lyon took 1A honors. In 2A Bill Harmsen of two time champion Western Christian was named. The 3A coach of the year is Mallory Youngblout of Davenport Assumption. In 4A Tom Lilly of Cedar Rapids Xavier and in 5A Tracy Dailey of Southeast Polk earned the honors.

Boy’s coaches of the year included Bill Francis who has guided Boyden Hull to back to back 1A titles. In 2A Claude Struve who led Sheldon to their first state title earned the honors. Coach of the year in 3A is Nate Steege of Waverly-Shell Rock with Steve Bergman of Iowa City West named coach of the year in 4A.

Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Sheldon Broadcasting Company, Inc. appreciates your comments that abide by the following guidelines:
1. Avoid profanities or foul language.
2. Disagree, but avoid ad hominem (personal) attacks.
3. Threats are treated seriously and will be reported to law enforcement.
4. Spam and advertising are not permitted in the comments area.
These guidelines are very general and cannot cover every possible situation. Please don't assume that Sheldon Broadcasting Company, Inc. or its advertisers agrees with or otherwise endorses any particular comment. We reserve the right to filter or delete comments or to deny posting privileges entirely at our discretion. Please note that comments are reviewed by the selected staff and may not be posted immediately. If you feel your comment was filtered inappropriately, please email

Back to:Five Area Basketball Coaches Earn Iowa Coaches Association Honors