Li’l Orab Wrestlers Excel At State

Date posted - March 5, 2012

The Li’l Orab Wrestling Club recently had two great weekends of wrestling.

The AAU Kid’s State Wrestling Tournament was held at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines on February 25th and 26th. Those participating in the tournament were Mason Warnke – A65, Kanner Bauer – A75, Ryan Sterler – A128, Jaden Kleinhesselink – B90, Luke Jenness – B100, Colby Kleinhesselink – C125 & Travis Sterler – C152. Ryan was able to make the medal stand placing 2nd in his division.

The Super Pee Wee State Tournament was held at Young Arena in Waterloo on March 4th and 5th. The Li’l Orabs had 14 participants in the 2 day competition. They were Kindergarten division – Josh Hoffman and Jarrett Roos. 1st Grade: Taven Brewster, Emilee Broesder, Devin Busch, Sammy Chambers, Coy DeBoer, Sawyer Honkomp, Conner McDonald, Keaton Sampson, Damon Van Beek and Jake Wallin; 2nd Grade: Cason Johannes and Dylan Strouth.

The Li’l Orabs were very successful having six of their wrestlers earn a spot on the medal stand with two of them earning the top honor of 2012 Super Pee Wee State Champion in their weight division.

The two Champions were Jarrett Roos in the Kindergarten 70 pound weight division and Jake Wallin in the 1st Grade 80 pound weight division. Others taking home the hardware were: Conner McDonald – 2nd place, Keaton Sampson – 3rd Place, Josh Hoffman – 6th Place and Sawyer Honkomp – 6th place.

The Li’l Orabs also scored the top points in the team totals at the Super Pee Wee Tournament as well. They scored a total of 181 team points with the next closest team at 168 points.There were over 900 wrestlers that participated in the tournament this weekend.

The Li’l Orabs are coached by Eric Koerselman, Kory Roos, Bill Sterler, Roy Johannes, Steve Landhuis, Scott Bauer, Matt McDonald, Mike Warnke, Shawn Broesder, Gavin Kolars Cody Ronan and James Granstra.

Kids State Picture: Front Row – Ryan Sterler, Travis Sterler, Colby Kleinhesselink, Luke Jenness. Back Row: Mason Warnke, Jaden Kleinhesselink, Kanner Bauer

SPW Participants Picture: Front Row – Emilee Broesder, Taven Brewster, Devin Busch, Sammy Chambers, Sawyer Honkomp, Coy DeBoer & Dylan Strouth. Back Row: Josh Hoffman, Keaton Sampson, Jarrett Roos, Jake Wallin, Nick Bronstad (HMS), Cason Johannes, Damon Van Beek & Conner McDonald

Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Sheldon Broadcasting Company, Inc. appreciates your comments that abide by the following guidelines:
1. Avoid profanities or foul language.
2. Disagree, but avoid ad hominem (personal) attacks.
3. Threats are treated seriously and will be reported to law enforcement.
4. Spam and advertising are not permitted in the comments area.
These guidelines are very general and cannot cover every possible situation. Please don't assume that Sheldon Broadcasting Company, Inc. or its advertisers agrees with or otherwise endorses any particular comment. We reserve the right to filter or delete comments or to deny posting privileges entirely at our discretion. Please note that comments are reviewed by the selected staff and may not be posted immediately. If you feel your comment was filtered inappropriately, please email

Back to:Li’l Orab Wrestlers Excel At State