MOC Floyd Valley And Okoboji Win Siouxland Conference Track Titles

Date posted - May 6, 2013

trackSheldon hosted the Siouxland Conference Track meet Monday at Orab Field. The girls title went to MOC Floyd Valley with 173 team points followed by Boyden Hull Rock Valley at 86. The boy’s title went to Okoboji with 145 points followed by West Lyon at 85.5.


Boys Team Totals

1. Okoboji 145
2. West Lyon 85.5
3. MOC Floyd Valley 84
4. Sioux Center 81
5. Boyden Hull Rock Valley 80.5
6. Sheldon 36
7. Central Lyon 20
8. Sibley Ocheyedan 17
9. George Little Rock 9

Highlights from the boys meet included Cody Bauman of West Lyon winning both the shot put and discuss. Trey Achterhoff of MOC Floyd Valley won the long jump and the 400 meters. Jordan Hanna of Okoboji claimed the 800 meters and the 1600 meter run. As a team the Pioneers were first in the 1600 meter relay, 4 by 800 and the 4 by 400.

Sheldon was led by Chris Balster with a second place finish in the long jump with a leap of 19-1. Trey Achterhoff won the event at 20-7. Collin Wolthuizen was third in the high jump with the Orab shuttle hurdle relay team turning in a second place finish.

Girls Team Totals

1. MOC Floyd Valley 173
2. Boyden Hull Rock Valley 86
3. Sioux Center 74
4. Central Lyon 68
5. Sibley Ocheyedan 65
6. Okoboji 47
7. Sheldon 41.5
8. West Lyon 24.5
9. George Little Rock 10

Multiple winners in the girl’s competition included Alexis Conway of MOC Floyd Valley who won the high jump along with the 200 and 400 meter dashes. Team mate Brooke Jacobsma won both the shot put and discus. Leah Sievert won both the 3000 and 1500 meter runs. Boyden Hull Rock Valley claimed both the sprint medley and 4 by 100. Central Lyon claimed the 4 by 800 and shuttle hurdle relays.

Sheldon was led by Autumn Wall who was second in the discus at 107-5 to Brooke Jacobsma’s 137-8. Caitlin Cain was second in the 100 meter hurdles in 16.17. Kendra Van Meeteren of Boyden Hull Rock Valley had the winning time of 15.67. Third place finishes were turned in by Allegra St Clair in the 400 meters and Caitlin Cain in the 400 meter hurdles.

Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Sheldon Broadcasting Company, Inc. appreciates your comments that abide by the following guidelines:
1. Avoid profanities or foul language.
2. Disagree, but avoid ad hominem (personal) attacks.
3. Threats are treated seriously and will be reported to law enforcement.
4. Spam and advertising are not permitted in the comments area.
These guidelines are very general and cannot cover every possible situation. Please don't assume that Sheldon Broadcasting Company, Inc. or its advertisers agrees with or otherwise endorses any particular comment. We reserve the right to filter or delete comments or to deny posting privileges entirely at our discretion. Please note that comments are reviewed by the selected staff and may not be posted immediately. If you feel your comment was filtered inappropriately, please email

Back to:MOC Floyd Valley And Okoboji Win Siouxland Conference Track Titles