NAIA All-American, Coach Of The Year Honors Awarded

Date posted - March 15, 2012

The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2012 Division II Women’s Basketball All-America teams. Players are selected by the All-America committee.

Jennifer Jorgensen of Grand View (Iowa) earned 2012 NAIA Division II Women’s Basketball Player of the Year after finishing third in the nation in scoring at 23.2 points per game. She also led NAIA Division II Women’s Basketball in total points scored (835) and steals (120) and was seventh nationally with 10.6 rebounds per contest. The 5-foot-10 junior guard led the Vikings to a 30-6 overall 2011-12 record and a trip to the quarterfinals of the national tournament for the second time in three years. Jorgensen averaged 20.0 points and 13.7 rebounds in three games at this year’s tournament and was named All-Tournament First Team.

Northwestern’s (Iowa) Chris Yaw was recognized as the Phyllis Holmes Coach of the Year on Tuesday night following the Red Raiders’ 75-62 national championship victory over College of the Ozarks (Mo.). Yaw, in his first season as head coach after taking over for newly-minted NAIA Hall of Famer Earl Woudstra, guided the program to its third-straight national title and fifth in school history. The Red Raiders concluded the season with a 28-7 overall record and a 16-4 Great Plains Athletic Conference mark. After losses in four of the first eight games, Yaw guided Northwestern to victories in 24 of Northwestern’s final 27 contests.

Jorgensen’s inclusion on the All-America list marks the third-straight selection for her. After receiving third-team honors in 2010, the Dayton, Iowa, native vaulted to the first team in 2011 and again in 2012. Northwestern’s Kendra De Jong is also making her second-consecutive appearance on the first team. The junior led the Red Raiders in both points (18.7) and rebounds per game (9.2) and notched a double-double in each of her team’s five games at the national tournament.

Other repeat All-America honorees include College of the Ozark’s Morgan Smith, Hastings’ (Neb.) Alicia Statler, Indiana Northwest’s Sharon Houston and Concordia’s (Mich.) Kortni Elsworth.

Player of the Year: Jennifer Jorgensen, Grand View (Iowa)

Phyllis Holmes Coach of the Year: Chris Yaw, Northwestern (Iowa)

First Team

Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Morgan Smith^ College of the Ozarks (Mo.) C Jr. Nixa, Mo.
Kortni Elsworth# Concordia (Mich.) G Sr. Goodrich, Mich.
Amber Kistler Concordia (Neb.) G Sr. Minatare, Neb.
Melissa Veltkamp Cornerstone (Mich.) G/F Sr. Hudsonville, Mich.
Jennifer Jorgensen^ Grand View (Iowa) G Sr. Dayton, Iowa
Alicia Statler^ Hastings (Neb.) C Sr. St. Libory, Neb.
Krystal Stoneking Indiana Wesleyan C Sr. Newark, Ohio
Anna Jones Iowa Wesleyan F Sr. Flanagan, Ill.
Chelsie Trask Morningside (Iowa) G Jr. Rockford, Iowa
Kendra De Jong* Northwestern (Iowa) F Jr. Hospers, Iowa

Second Team

Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Ariel Nickell Alice Lloyd (Ky.) F So. New Tazewell, Tenn.
Laura Johnson Bethel (Ind.) G Jr. Millbrook, Ill.
Alexsis Brown Cal Maritime F Sr. Richmond, Calif.
Kristen Conahan Concordia (Neb.) G So. Omaha, Neb.
Karlee Despres Davenport (Mich.) F Sr. Belmont, Mich.
Sharon Houston^ Indiana Northwest F Sr. Merrillville, Ind.
Jessalyn Jackson Northwest (Wash.) C Sr. Vancouver, Wash.
Kami Kuhlmann Northwestern (Iowa) G Sr. Charter Oak, Iowa
Brett Bates Southwestern (Kan.) G Sr. Hobart, Okla.
Lindsey Waters Union (Tenn.) C Jr. Stearns, Ky.

Third Team

Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Sandy Jenkins Ave Maria (Fla.) C Sr. Holly Hill, Fla.
Maranda Vaught College of the Ozarks (Mo.) G Sr. Crane, Mo.
Katie Steigleman Corban (Ore.) G Sr. Eugene, Ore.
Abby Fawcett Friends (Kan.) G Jr. Wichita, Kan.
Kristen Moose Houghton (N.Y.) G So. Canaseraga, N.Y.
Kelsey Green Huntington (Ind.) F/C Sr. Van Buren, Ind.
Emily Greiner Mount Mercy (Iowa) G Sr. Spring Valley, Minn.
Micha Mims Mount Mercy (Iowa) G Sr. Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Karyn Bixler Saint Mary (Neb.) F Jr. Omaha, Neb.
Shawnelle Campbell Warner (Fla.) G Sr. Portland, Ore.

*2011 First-Team Selection
^2011 Second-Team Selection
#2011 Third-Team Selection

Honorable Mention

Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Steffani Liscum Arizona Christian G Sr. Tucson, Ariz.
Emily Huber Ave Maria (Fla.) G Jr. Indianapolis, Ind.
Chelsea Harris Bethel (Kan.) F Jr. Newton, Kan.
Olivia Moore Brescia (Ky.) G Fr. Louisville, Ky.
Kylie Dilla Briar Cliff (Iowa) G Sr. Cherokee, Iowa
Felicity Jones College of Idaho G Jr. Tremonton, Utah
Hannah Sabol Concordia (Mich.) F Jr. Shelby Twp, Mich.
Ellie Allen Daemen (N.Y.) G Jr. Amherst, N.Y.
Karli Harris Davenport (Mich.) G Sr. Fishers, Ind.
Danielle Boykin Grace (Ind.) F Sr. Muncie, Ind.
Soulijah Evans Holy Names (Calif.) P So. San Diego, Calif.
Megan Murphy Indiana Southeast F Sr. Bloomington, Ind.
Page Smith Indiana Wesleyan F Jr. Fishers, Ind.
Bridget Schuneman Jamestown (N.D.) C Jr. Lino Lakes, Minn.
Mykiea Russell Montreat (N.C.) G Sr. Los Angeles, Calif.
Shea Rasmussen Nebraska Wesleyan G Sr. Longmont, Colo.
Amanda Francis Northwestern Ohio G Sr. Sidney, Ohio
April Austin Point Park (Pa.) G Jr. Penn Hills, Penn.
Olivia Grigg Saint Mary (Neb.) F Sr. Bladen, Neb.
Bekah Eppler Simpson (Calif.) F Sr. San Diego, Calif.
Maddie Cummings St. Thomas (Fla.) G Sr. Orlando, Fla.
Erin Guarneri Taylor (Ind.) G/F Jr. Marion, Ind.
Teonike Webb Virginia Intermont G Sr. Dublin, Va.
Chelsey Christensen Warner Pacific (Ore.) P Jr. West Linn, Ore.
Orielle Thomas William Penn (Iowa) G So. Waynesville, Mo.
Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Sheldon Broadcasting Company, Inc. appreciates your comments that abide by the following guidelines:
1. Avoid profanities or foul language.
2. Disagree, but avoid ad hominem (personal) attacks.
3. Threats are treated seriously and will be reported to law enforcement.
4. Spam and advertising are not permitted in the comments area.
These guidelines are very general and cannot cover every possible situation. Please don't assume that Sheldon Broadcasting Company, Inc. or its advertisers agrees with or otherwise endorses any particular comment. We reserve the right to filter or delete comments or to deny posting privileges entirely at our discretion. Please note that comments are reviewed by the selected staff and may not be posted immediately. If you feel your comment was filtered inappropriately, please email

Back to:NAIA All-American, Coach Of The Year Honors Awarded