Northwestern Sweeps GPAC Player of the Week Awards

Date posted - February 22, 2012


Northwestern post Kendra De Jong is this weeks GPAC/Hauff Mid-America Sports Women’s Player-of-the-Week.

De Jong, a junior from Hospers, Iowa, averaged 23.5 points and 14 rebounds per game as the Raiders won a pair of conference games on the week.

For the week she was 21-29 from the floor (72%) and 5-7 at the free throw line. Northwestern closed the regular season at 22-6 (16-4 GPAC) and will be the three seed in the GPAC Tournament.

The 7th ranked Raiders will host 6th seed Doane on Wednesday night at 6pm in the GPAC Tournament Quarterfinals in Orange City.

Northwestern guard Ben Miller is this weeks GPAC/Hauff Mid-America Sports Men’s Player-of-the-Week.

Miller, a junior from Volga, South Dakota, averaged 18.5 points and 7.5 rebounds per game as the Raiders went 2-0 on the week.

For the week he made 14-18 field goals (78%) and 8-10 at the foul line.

Northwestern is the two seed in the GPAC Tournament and will host 7 Mount Marty on Wednesday night at 8pm. The Raiders closed the regular season ranked 15th with a 22-6 record (15-5 GPAC).

Print Friendly

Leave a Reply

Sheldon Broadcasting Company, Inc. appreciates your comments that abide by the following guidelines:
1. Avoid profanities or foul language.
2. Disagree, but avoid ad hominem (personal) attacks.
3. Threats are treated seriously and will be reported to law enforcement.
4. Spam and advertising are not permitted in the comments area.
These guidelines are very general and cannot cover every possible situation. Please don't assume that Sheldon Broadcasting Company, Inc. or its advertisers agrees with or otherwise endorses any particular comment. We reserve the right to filter or delete comments or to deny posting privileges entirely at our discretion. Please note that comments are reviewed by the selected staff and may not be posted immediately. If you feel your comment was filtered inappropriately, please email

Back to:Northwestern Sweeps GPAC Player of the Week Awards