Results From Thursday Night Auto Racing At Sioux Speedway

Sioux Speedway LogoSioux Center Iowa — Great weather welcomed the Ver Hoef Automotive Quasquicentennial Clash Thursday, June 2 at Sioux Speedway. With the geat weather also came great racing. First to the track was the Glen’s Sport Center Hobby Stock division. Chad Lonneman took advantage of starting near the front to take the lead. While Lonneman stretched his lead early, Malik Sampson had other plans as he put the 27 car a little higher and drove around the outside of Lonneman’s #17L. Dustin Gulbrandson soon followed and chased down Sampson. The #6 of Gulbrandson tried the low line and ran door-to-door with Sampson’s #27 throughout the last quarter of the race. Worthington, MN racer Sampson got the edge and beat Gulbrandson of Sioux Falls, SD to the line by half a car length. A regular visitor to Sioux Speedway, Drew Barglof of Sioux Rapids, IA was third in car #45. Lonneman, from Adrian, MN, followed in fourth and 2015 Sioux County Fair winner Trevor Holm of Chandler, MN rounded out the top five in car #17.

The Tailgators Late Model Street Stock Series took to the half-mile next and a wild feature event ensued. Cory Yeigh of Sioux Falls pulled out to the early lead, but a pile up in turn one during the initial laps halted the field. After being a contributor to a caution himself, he gave up the lead to the #40 of Tim Dann of Hartford, SD. Dann led through a few more cautions until a red flag once again put the race on pause as Zack Van Voorst found himself off of the track off of turn 4 and ended up upside down entangled in the catch fence next to the wall. Van Voorst walked away from the incident. When racing resumed Darrin Korthals found his way to the front as he battled Dann and Yeigh three wide for the lead. The winner of the first modern era Street Stock race at Sioux Speedway in 1998, Rock Rapids, IA native Korthals, managed to take the top spot and go on to win his fifth Street Stock feature at Sioux Speedway, his last being in 2001. Yeigh charged back to second in #64 after being relegated to the tail twice. Dann finished third in car #40. #83x Brylee Gough finished in fourth, and Dave Kutcha, #27 rounded out the top five.

The USRA Iron Man Challenge series next saw center stage with the Steve Brouwer Trucking B-Modifieds. With 28 cars on hand, four heats and a B-feature narrowed down the field to 22. Sioux City modified ace Chris Abelson took Kaleb Kennedy’s #5x B-Modified for a Thursday night cruise as he drew a front row starting spot and went on unchallenged for the win. USRA Iron Man Series point leader Cole Denner, #02, had a front row seat for Abelson’s clinic as he followed Abelson to the checkers. With New Hampton, Iowa’s Denner finishing second, Dustin Kruse of Sioux Falls finished third in his #6 machine. Tim Rupp of Cherokee Iowa was the hard charger as he drove from 13th to finish fourth in car #33. Todd Boulware from Jefferson, SD crossed the line in fifth with his #14 car.

The USRA Iron Man Challenge Sybesma Graphics Stock Cars were the finale of the evening. Elijah Zevenbergen was another racer putting on a clinic as he made it look easy as the #66Z car was also fortunate to draw a front row starting position. Zevenbergen stretched out his lead and picked up his fifth Sioux Speedway trophy for his trophy case at his Ocheyedan, Iowa home. Mel Elsberry of nearby Orange City, Iowa moved up from his sixth starting spot to finish second with the red and black #5E machine. Past Sioux Speedway Hobby Stock feature winner, Devin Smith of Lake City, Iowa made his first start at Sioux Speedway in the Sybesma Graphics Stock Car division to come home third in the #81 Dodge. Steve Jackson of Polk City, Iowa put the #2J car into the fourth position at the checkers. To finish out the top five, Stefan Sybesma of Sanborn, Iowa snuck past Todd Staley with just a few laps to go to claim fifth with his #5B machine.

Sioux Speedway will be back in action for the second and final race at the half-mile this summer Wednesday, July 13 during the Sioux County Youth Fair.

Complete results can be found at

Previous ArticleNext Article