Rosters Out For Shrine Bowl Football Game

footballRosters have been released for the 41st annual Iowa Shrine Bowl Game. After many years of being held on the Iowa State Campus at Ames the annual all star game will move to the UNI Dome in Cedar Falls home of the UNI Panthers and the State Football Semi’s and Finals.

Area athletes invited to participate include Sheldon’s Chris Balster, Brandt Van Roekel of Boyden Hull Rock Valley along with Spirit Lake team mates Cody Poock and Brett Cochran Bray at the “so called skill positions”.

Linemen named to the North squad include Austin Allen of Spencer, Ben Starr of Central Lyon George Little Rock and Tate Kellenberger of West Lyon.

Head Coach of the North Team will be Mike Dirksen of Newman Catholic in Mason City. Assisting Dirksen will be assisted by Josh Bolluyt who led Spirit Lake to the 2a title.

Head Coach of the South Team will be Tom Wilson of Dowling Catholic.

The players are selected by a process of nomination by coaches, balloting by state-wide sports media professionals, and official invitation from a representative of the Iowa Shrine Bowl.

The Iowa Shrine Bowl produces this game each year. The game brings honor and recognition to the players, their schools and their communities. It has also been an effective tool in raising money for Shriners Hospital For Children.

The 2013 game scheduled for Saturday July 27th will be the 41st Annual Iowa Shrine Bowl game.

To date, the Iowa Shrine Bowl has raised over $2,268,000 for The Shriner’s Hospitals for Children. Funds for The Shriner’s Hospitals For Children are developed by ticket sales, advertising in the Shrine Bowl program, merchandise sales, contributions and sponsorships.

Previous ArticleNext Article