South O’Brien Wins 1A Title

South O'Brien WolverineDes Moines, Iowa — 7th seed South O’Brien capped off their historic year with a fourth quarter run to win their first championship as a school after defeating Council Bluffs St. Albert 54-43 Friday night.

Council Bluffs St. Albert would jump out to an early 9-1 lead but the Wolverines would turn things around and the game would be tied 12-12 after the first period of play.  The 2nd quarter would feature both teams trading baskets, and by the quarter’s end, it was Council Bluffs St. Albert with the 27-24 advantage. After three, the Falcons led 35-30. Damon Struve and company would finally find their groove in the final quarter from beyond the arc. The final minute would feature the Wolverines sealing the deal from the free throw line. South O’Brien would win by a score of 54-43.

South O’Brien had two players in double figures. Damon Struve had a team high 13 points.  Kyle Paulsen added 11 of his own. The Falcons were led by Travis Miller with a game high 16 points.

The Wolverines end their 25-3 year with a 1A Championship. Council Bluffs St. Albert ends their season at 17-10.


Class 1-A Farm Bureau All-Tournament Team

Matt Fagan St. Albert, Council Bluffs
Cameron Maxwell South O’Brien, Paullina
Connor Sonius West Hancock, Britt
Damon Struve South O’Brien, Paullina
Travis Miller St. Albert, Council Bluffs
Team Captain: Joe Smoldt Gladbrook-Reinbeck

Farm Bureau – IHSAA Board of Control Class 1-A Sportsmanship Award went to West Hancock Britt.

Class 1-A Iowa Bankers Association/Iowa High School Athletic Association Student Athletes/Achiever’s Award went to Ben Aberson from South O’Brien.

Previous ArticleNext Article