Sports Scores From Thursday May 5th

golf picNorthwest Iowa — It was a busy day for golf, track and soccer in northwest Iowa Thursday. Orab golf teams were involved in conference meets and the Siouxland Conference Track Meet was hosted by MOC Floyd Valley.

Boys Golf
The Sheldon Orabs outscored MOC Flyd Valley 159-165 to earn the team title at the conference meet hosted hosted by Rock Valley. Boyden Hull was third at 173. Medalist honors went to Sheldon’s Tyler Merley with a par 36. Trenton De Haan of MOC Floyd Valley was the runner up at 37. Brock De Boer of Sioux Center fired a 38 with Jaden Snyder of West Lyon next at 39. Tate Arends of MOC Floyd Valley and Nick Bomgaars of Sheldon fired rounds of 40 to round out the top six.

For complete results click on the link below and scroll down to the meet you want to view

2016 Siouxland Conference Boys Golf at Rock Valley (13)


Girls Golf
Boyden Hull hosted a Siouxland Conference Meet at Rolling Hills. MOC Floyd Valley claimed the team title with a 189. Rock Valley was next at 202 with Central Lyon third at 205. West Lyon was fourth on a tie breaker also at 205. Sibley Ocheyedan rounded out the top five with a team total 212. Sheldon was 6th at 215 with George Little Rock  7th at 227.

Medalist honors went to Hannah Sieperda of Central Lyon who won on a tie breaker over three other players who were all in at 44. They included Mia Hoogeveen of West Lyon, Britta Harberts of Sibley Ocheyedan and Hannah Butler of Okoboji. Rounding out the top five were Kenzi Vlotho of Rock Valley at 45 and  Alexa Arends of MOC Floyd Valley who carded a 46.

For complete results click on the link below

Siouxland Conference Girls Golf at Boyden Hull 5-5


Coed Track
The Siouxland Conference Meet was hosted by MOC Floyd Valley. The girls team title went to Sioux Center with Boyden Hull Rock Valley claiming the boy’s title.

Girls Team Totals
1 Sioux Center 139
2 Sheldon 88
3 West Lyon 76
4 MOC-FV 69
5 Central Lyon 67
6 Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley 62
7 Sibley-Ocheyedan 43
8 Okoboji- Milford 35
9 George LIttle Rock 9

In the wheelchair competition Keri Siebrecht won the 100 meter dash in 26.64, the 400 Meter Dash in 1:46.15, the 200 Meter Dash in 52.14 and the Shot Put with a toss of 11-09.50. Other first place finishes for the Orabs came in the 800 Meter run. Anessa Schoo was first in 2:28.42. In the Girls 3000 Meter Run Emma Van Meeteren was first in 11:26.69. Ashlyn Albrecht won the Long Jump with a distance of 16-05.50. The 4×100 Meter Shuttle Hurdle team of Bryn Groff, Ashlyn Albrecht , Madison Uhl and Maddy Tolk won with a time of 1:08.20.

Boys Team Totals
1 Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley 99
2 Sibley-Ocheyedan 91
3 MOC-FV 77
4 Sheldon 75
5 Central Lyon 72
6 West Lyon 63
7 Sioux Center 61
8 George LIttle Rock 18
9 Okoboji- Milford 2

First place finishes for Sheldon came in the 800 Meter Run. Jaden Kleinhesselink was first in 2:04.32. Colby Kleinhesselink won the 110 Meter Hurdles in 15.57. The Orab 4×800 Meter Relay team of Mitchal Van Gorp, Colby Kleinhesselink, Chad Nelson and Jaden Kleinhesselink won the event in a time of 8:21.44.

For complete meet results click on the link below

SouxlandConference_Track Meet Results_2016pdf


The Lakes Conference Meet was hosted by LeMars. Spencer won the girls team title for the 5th straight year. The boys title went to LeMars.

Girls Team Scores
1 Spencer 147
2 Le Mars 126
3 Western Christian 101
4 Spirit Lake Park 73
5 Cherokee 61
6 Storm Lake 29
6 Emmetsburg 29
8 ELC 20

Boys Team Scores
1 Le Mars 144
2 Spirit Lake 136
3 Western Christian 66
3 ELC 66
5 Cherokee 52
6 Spencer 49
7 Storm Lake 29
8 Emmetsburg 14


Girls Soccer
Spencer 6, Western Christian 2
Unity Christian 4, Storm Lake 0

Boys Soccer
MOC-Floyd Valley 1, Sioux Center 0
Storm Lake 10, Unity Christian, Orange City 2
Western Christian, Hull 2, Spencer 1 (2 OT PK 5-4)

Previous ArticleNext Article