Nearly $100,000-worth Of Hogs Killed By Vandals Near Rock Valley

pig (from ISU web site)Rock Valley, Iowa — Nearly $100,000-worth of hogs were destroyed by a vandal or vandals near Rock Valley this week, and the Sioux County Sheriff’s Office is looking for the public’s help to find out who did it.

The Sioux County Sheriff’s Office reports that they took the report on Wednesday afternoon (12/19) of criminal mischief that occurred at a hog confinement on Elmwood Avenue, five miles south of Rock Valley. The crime occurred between Tuesday, December 18, at 3:00 PM and Wednesday, December 19, at 1:00 PM.

The perpetrator or perpetrators entered the building and caused the death of approximately 475 hogs by tampering with the climate control system. The hogs weighed about 280 pounds per hog.

Anyone with information concerning this crime is asked to contact to the Sioux County Sheriff’s Office. You may also use their Text‐A‐Tip program to report any information if you wish to remain anonymous.

Hospers Man Who Made Facebook Threats Free On Bond After Being Transported To Jail

Orange City, Iowa — The Hospers man who allegedly threatened on Facebook that QUOTE “I want to shoot a bunch of people, my family, and myself” was taken into custody on Tuesday.

Sioux County Sheriff’s Officials report that although they picked up 22-year-old Ricky Lee Carver of Hospers when he was released from Mercy Medical in Sioux City and took him to jail in Orange City, he was released on bond.

Bond had been set at $2,000, and Carver posted the bond through a bondsman, and was released from jail on Tuesday evening.

Previous story in regard to this case

Extension Report: “Birds Of A Feather” Class About Winter Birds To Be Offered In January At Oak Grove

Iowa State University Extension and Outreach helps carry Iowa State’s land-grant mission beyond campus, to be the university that best serves the citizens of Iowa. With Iowa State University, Extension embraces the land-grant philosophy of:

  • access to high-quality education
  • research applied to the needs of Iowa, the nation, and world
  • extending knowledge to strengthen Iowa’s economy and citizens’ quality of life

Iowa State University Extension does that by offering practical, how-to education based on powerful university research. It’s available to any resident of Iowa and is tailored to meet the needs of Iowans, needs we know firsthand. Extension educators, specialists, and volunteers live and work in all 99 Iowa counties.

We recently spoke with extension educator Margaret Murphy, who told us about a class called “Birds Of A Feather” coming up in January at Oak Grove Park near Hawarden.

Sioux Falls Woman Sentenced To Ten-Year Prison Term For Theft From Rock Valley Parents

bank check fraudOrange City, Iowa — A Sioux Falls woman has been sentenced to a ten-year prison term for theft from her Rock Valley parents.

Sioux County Attorney Coleman McAllister says 42-year-old Sharla Renae Porter of Sioux Falls has been sentenced for the crime of Theft in the First Degree, a Class C Felony.

On December 23, 2011, a Rock Valley couple contacted the Rock Valley Police Department to report that their daughter, Sharla Renae Porter, had stolen some blank checks from them. The police department completed a criminal investigation, which revealed that Porter had forged a number of her parents’ checks and passed them for merchandise at businesses in Sioux Falls. The total amount of the forged checks was $5,747.78. During the investigation, officers further discovered that Porter had also stolen $20,237.21 from her parents’ bank accounts by fraudulently setting up a PayPal account in her parents’ name and then using the PayPal account to pay for items she purchased by fraudulently accessing funds in her parents’ bank account in Rock Valley.

Porter pled guilty to Theft in the First Degree, a Class C felony. She was sentenced to serve an indeterminate ten-year prison sentence and has been ordered to pay restitution to her parents.

Hospers Woman Ordered To Complete Drug Court Program For Possessing Methamphetamine – Third Offense


Hospers, Iowa — A Hospers woman has been ordered to complete a drug court program for possessing methamphetamine – third offense.

Sioux County Attorney Coleman McAllister says that 40-year-old Pauline Rebecca McDonald of Hospers has been sentenced for the crime of Possession of Methamphetamine, Third Offense, a Class D Felony.

On May 30, 2012, a concerned citizen contacted the Sioux County Sheriff’s Office to express concerns that McDonald was using illegal drugs. Officers responded to McDonald’s residence in Hospers. McDonald was cooperative with the officers and allowed the officers to search her home. The search revealed methamphetamines and drug paraphernalia. McDonald was arrested and charged with possession of a controlled substance third or subsequent offense based upon prior convictions. On December 17, 2012, McDonald pled guilty and was sentenced to an indeterminate five-year prison term. The prison term was suspended and McDonald was placed on probation for three years. As a special condition of probation, McDonald must attend and successfully complete a Drug Court program.

Drug Court is a special court given responsibility to handle cases involving substance-abusing offenders through comprehensive supervision, drug testing, treatment services and immediate sanctions and incentives. Drug Court offers individuals facing criminal charges for drug use and possession an opportunity to enter a substance abuse recovery program in lieu of straight jail or prison time. Drug court candidates are drug tested frequently, must attend substance abuse recovery meetings, and make regular court appearances in order to abide by the requirements of Drug Court.

Sheldon Police Arrest Two On Separate Charges, Transport One RTF Inmate To Jail

Sheldon PD car police spdSheldon, Iowa — In the latest from the Sheldon Police Department:

On Tuesday (12/18), officers apprehended 69-year-old Thomas Snyder of Sheldon and charged him with Second Offense OWI. He was also taken into custody and transported to jail in Primghar.

On Monday (12/17), officers took 23-year-old Brandon Priester into custody at the RTF on an RTF Hold Order. He was transported to jail in Primghar.

On Sunday (12/16), they arrested 18-year-old Alexis Smithson of Sheldon and charged her with Public Intoxication and Person Under The Legal Age In Possession Of Alcohol. She too was transported to Jail in Primghar.