GPAC Basketball from Wednesday, February 8th

A fantastic 2nd half effort from the Dordt College women came up just short as the Defenders dropped a 54-50 GPAC contest to Dakota Wesleyan Wednesday evening at the Corn Palace in Mitchell, South Dakota. A 23-4 run by Dordt turned a 19 point Tiger lead (46-27) in to a 50-50 ball game on a Brianna Spronk layup with 1:51 left but the Defenders couldn’t get another basket down the stretch in the GPAC contest. Dordt College falls to 10-16 on the season and 5-13 in the conference while the Tigers improve to 14-12 overall and 6-11 in the GPAC. With the win, Dakota Wesleyan moves in front of Dordt College for the 8th and final spot in the GPAC tournament and also enjoy the tiebreaker on the Defenders.

The 7th-ranked Northwestern Red Raider women extended their GPAC Conference record to 13-4, courtesy of a 61-52 win over unranked Mount Marty last night. The Raiders are now 14-3 in the conference and 19-6 overall. With the loss, Mount Marty drops to 15-11 overall, and 9-8 in the GPAC.

In Men’s GPAC action, the Dordt College men made a dramatic comeback last night in Mitchell, outscoring the Dakota Wesleyan Tigers 12-1 over the last 4 and a half minutes to turn a 57-49 deficit into a 61-58 GPAC victory to pick up their 24th win of the season. The win is Dordt’s first in the Corn Palace in 9 years as they improve to 24-3 overall and 15-3 in the GPAC while the Tigers drop to 14-13 on the season and 6-11 in conference play.

Meanwhile, 15 Northwestern enjoyed a 21 point victory over Mount Marty, 87-66. With the win, the Raiders extend their GPAC record to 12-5, with an overall season record of 19-6. Mount Marty falls to 6-11 in the conference, and 10-15 overall.

State Tournament Wrestling Teams Decided

State dual team wrestling berths were earned across the state last night. In the class 2A from Sheldon, Boyden-Hull defeated Sergeant Bluff-Luton, 24-22, in the following match Spirit Lake Park defeated OA-BCIG, 49-30. In the final round for the state tournament, Spirit Lake Park defeated Boyden Hull/Rock Valley, 41-26. With the win, Spirit Lake Park earned a 7 seed and will face second-seed West Delaware in state tournament play.

In class 1A from Britt, Clarion-Goldfield defeated Okoboji, 61-11 and Emmetsburg defeated Lake Mills, 46-30. In the final match, Clarion-Goldfield defeated Emmetsburg, 51-21 and earned the first seed in the state tournament. They will meet the eight-seed West Branch in the first round of tournament play.

The 2012 State Dual Team Tournament starts Wednesday, February 15th at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

Study Tracks Walleye Population at Iowa Great Lakes

For the past 21 years, every walleye caught during the April gillnetting season at the Iowa Great Lakes received a unique alpha numeric tag, gave up a spine and was measured before heading back to the cool water from which they came.
That information has been feeding a database now stretching 24,000 walleyes strong and is being used to keep track of the health of one of the most important populations used for Iowas fish culture program.
Read more

Sports schedule for Tuesday 2/7/12

Sports schedule for Tuesday 2/7/12


Basketball Doubleheaders

Sheldon at West Lyon
Broadcast on KIWA FM 105.3. Pregame for the girls at 6:05 tip off at 6:15 with the boy’s game to follow. We’ll stream from the website at

G-LR at Central Lyon

MOC Floyd Valley at Okoboji

Sioux Center at Rock Valley

Sibley Ocheyedan at Boyden Hull

Akron Westfield at Hinton

MMC at Unity

Spalding at Remsen St Mary’s

West Sioux at Gehlen

Western at E-LC

Spirit Lake at Spencer

LeMars at Storm Lake

Ventura at Harris Lake Park

Dual Team Wrestling Class 2A at Sheldon 6pm start

Boyden Hull Rock Valley vs Sergeant Bluff Luton

Spirit Lake vs OA-BCIG

Winners meet for a trip to the State Dual Team Tournament

Class 1A at Britt West Hancock 6pm start

Okoboji vs Clarion Goldfield

Emmetsburg vs Lake Mills

Winners meet for a trip to the State Dual Team Tournament

Radio Iowa Boys High School Basketball Poll

Radio Iowa Boys High School Basketball Poll 2/6/12

Class 4A

1. Ankeny (17-0), LW 1 vs Marshalltown (Tue)
2. Iowa City West (17-0), LW 2 @ 10 Kennedy (Tue)
3. Cedar Falls (15-2), LW 5 vs CR Washington (Tue)
4. WDM Valley (14-3), LW 3 @ Indianola (Tue)
5. Linn-Mar (13-4), LW 4 vs 7 Dubuque Senior (Tue)
6. DSM Hoover (13-3), LW 9 @ S.E. Polk (Tue)
7. Dubuque Senior (15-2), LW 6 @ 5 Linn-Mar (Tue)
8. Sioux City East (15-3), LW 7 vs Sioux City North (Tue)
9. Waukee (13-4), LW 8 @ DSM North (Tue)
10.Cedar Rapids Kennedy (13-4), LW (X) vs 2 Iowa City West (Tue)

Class 3A
1. MOC/Floyd Valley (19-0), LW 1 @ Okoboji (Tue)
2. Waverly-Shell Rock (17-1), LW 2 @ Crestwood (Tue)
3. Mount Pleasant (17-1), LW 3 vs Mid-Prairie (tonight)
4. Western Dubuque (15-2), LW 4 @ Maquoketa (Tue)
5. Webster City (15-2), LW 6 @ Clear Lake
6. Davenport Assumption (14-3), LW 9 vs Muscatine (Tue)
7. Iowa Falls-Alden (16-2), LW 5 vs Aplington-Parkersburg (tonight)
8. Dallas Center-Grimes (16-2), LW (X) @ Carroll (Tue)
9. Atlantic (15-3), LW 8 vs Denison-Schleswig (Tue)
10.Sioux City Heelan (12-5), LW 7 @ Omaha Skutt (Tue)

Class 2A
1. West Marshall (19-0), LW 1 vs BCLUW (tonight)
2. West Fork (19-0), LW 2 @ Rockford (Tue)
3. DSM Christian (18-1), LW 3 vs Van Meter (tonight)
4. Denver (18-1), LW 4 vs Gladbrook-Reinbeck (Tue)
5. Monticello (19-0), LW 5 @ Cascade (Tue)
6. PCM Monroe (18-2), LW 6 vs Nevada (Tue)
7. MFL MarMac (16-1), LW 9 vs Clayton Ridge (tonight)
8. Clarinda (16-2), LW 8 vs Creston (Tue)
9. Ogden (19-1), LW 10 vs 3 DSM Christian (Tue)
10.North Cedar (16-4), LW 7 @ West Branch (Tue)

Class 1A
1. Danville (17-0), LW 1 vs Harmony (Tue)
2. Storm Lake St. Marys (19-0), LW 2 vs Alta-Aurelia (Tue)
3. Northeast Hamilton (19-0), LW 3 @ Belmond-Klemme (Tue)
4. Keota (18-0), LW 4 vs English Valleys (tonight)
5. Boyden-Hull (17-2), LW 6 vs Sibley-Ocheyedan (Tue)
6. Harris-Lake Park (19-0), LW 8 vs Ventura (Tue)
7. North Iowa (17-2), LW 7 vs Belmond-Klemme (tonight)
8. Nodaway Valley (16-2), LW 9 vs Bedford (Tue)
9. Treynor (18-1), LW 5 @ Fremont-Mills (Fri)
10.North Linn (18-2), LW 10 vs Alburnett (tonight)


Area Class 1A Wrestlers Open Tournaments At Okoboji

Area Class 1A wrestlers took their first step toward the State Tournament at the Sectional in Okoboji Saturday. Emmetsburg won the team total at 206 followed by Okoboji at 161.
They will advance to the Dual Team Competition on Tuesday at Britt West Hancock. In the semi finals at 6pm Okoboji will go against Clarion Goldfield and Emmetsburg will meet Lake Mills. 

The rest of the team totals included Graettinger Terri at 151.5, Sibley Ocheyedan at 130, Western at 124, Hartley Melvin Sanborn at 120, West Sioux at 100 and West Lyon at 82.5.

Wrestlers advancing to The District at Sibley on Saturday February 11th include these individuals

Tyler Dalen Graettinger Terril
Brett Steinkamp Emmetsburg

Brent Reed Sibley Ocheyedan
Matt Henning Western

Kaleb Vanderpool Okoboji
Austin Thompson Graettinger Terril

Nick Drenth HMS
James Dubbelde West Lyon

Ty Gibson Graettinger Terril
Heath Nagel HMS

Jon Grevengoed Western
Trent Lundgren Graettinger Terril

Justin Studer Emmetsburg
Isidro Topete West Sioux

Brett Flynn HMS
Brady Bailey Emmetsburg

Zach Jones Okoboji
Nick Schany Emmetsburg

Andrew Wellik Emmetsburg
David Hernandez West Sioux

Tanner Taylor Okoboji
Austin McCartan Emmetsburg

Sam Van Ginkel Western
Taylor Wegner Emmetsburg

Trevor Van Den Top Western
Alonso Flores West Sioux
Logan Bonneman West Sioux
Patrick Coleman Sibley Ocheyedan