Burning Ban Remains For Only One County In Iowa: Lyon County

Des Moines, Iowa — Several of the Open Burning Bans in northwest Iowa have been lifted or will be lifted soon.

We have received word that the O’Brien County Burning Ban was lifted on Wednesday. Sioux County is lifting their ban on Saturday. Osceola County lifted their ban on Thursday. At this point, the only county in the state with an active Open Burning Ban is Lyon County.

The bans stay in effect until all the fire departments with some or all of their district in that particular county advise the State Fire Marshal’s Office that hazardous burning conditions no longer exist, or they let the county representative know, and the representative alerts the Fire Marshal’s Office. The representative is usually one of the fire chiefs or the County Emergency Management Director.

Fire officials advise that even if burning is now legal where you live, we are still in an extreme drought situation, so they advise extra caution when burning.

Previous ArticleNext Article