News, Top Stories

Election Results: Sheldon Franchise Agreements Defeated; Hamill, Barahona Elected

Northwest Iowa — Voters went to the polls on Tuesday to elect city and school candidates and vote on city and school questions.

In Sheldon, for the First Ward rep on the city council, incumbent Pete Hamill appears to have defeated challenger Kerwin Sterler 55 to 44 percent. For the Sheldon Council-at-Large chair, Wayne Barahona has defeated challenger Fred Grein 74 percent to 26 percent. Sheldon voters also decided to defeat the natural gas and electric franchise agreements with MidAmerican Energy. The electric and gas agreements got about 54 percent no votes.

The Archer library levy was defeated 79 to 21 percent. Meanwhile, the Hartley library levy passed 76 to 24 percent. The HMS Revenue Purpose statement was approved 80/20.

In Orange City, for the mayor chair, incumbent Deb De Haan defeated Kurt Korver 76 to 24 percent. For the Orange City Council, three seats were available. Incumbents Daron De Jong and Tony Vande Brake will continue to serve, and challenger Aaron Beadner received the next-highest number of votes, so it looks like he will serve.

On the Sioux Center City Council, three people ran for two seats. Incumbent Eric Moerman and challenger Dale Vander Berg will serve. As far as the Sioux Center School Revenue Purpose Statement, that passed overwhelmingly by 94 percent.

The public measure for changes to the Hospers Library board also passed by a large margin, winning 95 percent of the vote.

In George, incumbent mayor James L. Cuttell got 108 votes for the win. Write-in Warren Tiedeman got 106 votes, and declared challenger John Henry Vivian got 45. Six people tried for three seats on the council. Incumbent Ande Bruinsma will retain his chair, and will serve alongside Warren Tiedeman and Stacy Denekas. Incumbent Norm Riemersma looks to have been voted out.

At Central Lyon, incumbents David Jans, Joel De Wit, and Andy Koob will retain their chairs after facing a challenge from Cassandra Downard.

Three people filed for the At Large position on the George-Little Rock School Board. The winner was Austin Lloyd with 213 votes. Paul Denekas got 186 votes, and Allison Sandbeck got 125.

For the Sibley City Council at-large seat, Lynelle Thiner defeated James Sembach Jr. 74 to 25 percent.

For Sibley Ocheyedan District 5, Kristen Beyer looks to have received 250 votes to Roxanne Hayenga’s 247. We haven’t heard if there will be a recount.

Sioux County Results
O’Brien County Results
Lyon County Results
Osceola County Results

Previous ArticleNext Article