Governor Approves State Assistance For 6 Counties Where Tornadoes, Hail, Strong Winds Struck

Des Moines, Iowa — Up here in northwest Iowa, we had a little winter weather to contend with to start the weekend. But tornadoes and hail struck other portions of Iowa Friday. And the governor wants to help.

Tornado watches or warnings were issued for 40 different counties Friday as severe weather struck the Midwest. Governor Reynolds has approved state assistance to six counties — Cedar, Clinton, Delaware, Johnson, Mahaska, and Washington. Emergency shelters were opened in Coralville and Manchester. Damage was reported near Ottumwa and in Keokuk County as well. About half of the residents in Charlotte, a small town in Clinton County, were evacuated because a propane tank was damaged and began leaking.

The storm system knocked out electricity to thousands of customers in Iowa on Friday afternoon and, by midnight, snow had begun falling in northwest Iowa.