New Disaster Proclamation Includes Two More NW Iowa Counties

Des Moines, Iowa — Governor Kim Reynolds has issued an additional disaster proclamation as a result of recent severe weather. The new proclamation covers 17 additional counties, including O’Brien and Buena Vista counties in northwest Iowa.

The proclamation makes programs available to residents in those counties directly impacted by the severe storms. They are eligible to apply for help through the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program and the Disaster Case Advocacy Program. Information on the programs can be found at and

The proclamation comes on the heels of one that was issued Tuesday for 15 counties, including Clay, Kossuth, and Palo Alto counties.

(Courtesy fellow Community First Broadcasting station KAYL in Storm Lake)


Local News