Sheldon Schools Move Forward on East Elementary Project

east elementary 290px for webSheldon, Iowa — With overwhelming approval from the voters, the Sheldon School District is moving forward with plans for the building addition and remodeling of East Elementary.

At the School Board meeting Monday night, superintendent Robin Spears presented the proposed time line for the project.  There will be a preliminary planning meeting with the architects on Monday February 18th.

On May 8th the board will be asked to approve the Bond Sale Documentation.  Bids will be opened at ten a.m. on  May 22nd.  The final paperwork will be completed, and work on the project will begin this summer.  He expects the work to be completed in the year 2015.

The Board also received copies of the budget worksheets for the coming fiscal year.  The tax levy rate is shown as 14.26443, an increase of 83 cents over the current year.  $1.33 of the levy is the voted physical plant and equipment levy which will be gradually phased out by fiscal year  ’23 when the Middle School will be paid off.

In her report to the Board, Elementary principal Tanya  Langholdt  said she expects another good-sized kindergarten class.  Based on current preschool numbers she estimates that they will have 91 kindergarten students this fall.

In other reports, Activities Director Mike Niece discussed the many activities going on at this time.  This included the news that five groups, represented by 43 students have been nominated for the All-State Speech Festival.  This will include a choral reading group, two musical theater groups and a short film group.  He also called attention to student athletes who have received special recognition.  Audrey Gustafson and Jessica Weppler have received Girls Basketball academic all-conference honors.  Boys Basketball academic all-conference honors went to Tom Brown, Matt Dykstra, and Dallas Enema.  Toby Maggert received Wrestling academic all-conference recognition.  The Iowa Football Coaches Association has given academic all-state honors to Tom Brown, Matt Dykstra and Toby Maggert.

And the Board voted unanimously to deny the request by Unity Christian High School to enter the Siouxland  Athletic Conference.  The request was previously presented to the Siouxland Superintendents.  Robin Spears told the Board that although a few Superintendents were in favor of the request, the majority were against it.   One of the reasons was the scheduling difficulties that would arise from an uneven number of  conference members.  Other reasons included the fact that Unity does not have all the athletic programs that are common among the present Conference membership.   In Unity’s request they pointed out that their school is four times as large as the smallest schools in the War Eagle Conference and they would be a better ‘fit’ for the Siouxland.




Previous ArticleNext Article