Supervisors Approve Canvass Of O’Brien County Primary Results

Primghar, Iowa — The O’Brien County Board of Supervisors has approved the canvass of election returns from the primary elections of a week ago.

On the Republican side:

In Supervisor District 1, Jim Thomas was the winner, as was current County Auditor Barbara Rohwer for the District 2 Supervisor nomination, and Nancy McDowell in District 3. Rhea Schmalen is the official candidate for the County Auditor Race, and Sheriff Bruce Devereaux is the Republican candidate for county sheriff.

In legislative races, Randy Feenstra defeated Kevin Virgil for the Republican nomination for United States Representative, District 4, 26,763 to 17,648. But in O’Brien County, which is Virgil’s home county, Virgil won more votes, with 953 to Feenstra’s 632. Zach Dieken was unopposed for State Representative District 5, and won the nomination.

On the Democratic side, the only candidate on the O’Brien County ballot for any office was Ryan Melton, who ran unopposed for his party’s nomination for United States Representative, District 4, and won that nomination. That sets up a rematch of Melton vs. Feenstra in November.

This was also a Libertarian primary, but no candidates filed for the Libertarian party nomination for any position on the O’Brien County ballot.


Local News