2021 edition of The IHSAA Officials Awards Out

BOONE, Iowa – The Iowa High School Athletic Association is proud to honor 162 game officials for the 2021 edition of its annual officials’ awards program which represents years of service, aspiring new officials, and state sport officials of the year.

Through 2019, the IHSAA presented these awards at an annual banquet in Des Moines. The ceremony has not been held the last two years due to COVID-19 considerations, and award-winning officials will receive their honors through mailings from the IHSAA.

“We’re always proud of how our officials serve their communities, students, and sports, but especially so in this 2020-21 school year as they have been essential partners in putting activities back in action here in Iowa,” IHSAA executive Tom Keating said.

The complete list is available below and features 12 officials receiving awards for 50 years of service, five regional Aspiring New Official honorees, and this year’s NFHS Section IV Distinguished Active Official selection, Pete Peterson of Urbandale.

Also recognized were 15 registered officials with 35 years of service, 39 with 25 years, and 75 completing 15 years, plus the NFHS Officials Association’s official of the year by sport.

Below is a list of this year’s honorees with their current city of residence listed for identification purposes. For more on IHSAA officials, visit 

State Officials of the Year
Curt Anderson, Paullina – Girls’ Track & Field
Michael Burke, Bettendorf – Wrestling
Marshall Cotton, Mount Pleasant – Boys’ Basketball
Kelly Dunbar, Marshalltown – Girls’ Soccer
David Foltz, Rock Rapids – Football
Jay Grassley, Cedar Falls – Volleyball
Kris Groff, Mapleton – Softball
Roger Johnson, North Liberty – Baseball
Michelle Koller, Kalona – Girls’ Swimming
Chuck Northrup, Dubuque – Boys’ Swimming
Al Robson, Scranton – Girls Cross Country
Jason Slaughter, Sioux City – Girls’ Basketball
Kevin Stapleford, Des Moines – Boys’ Soccer
Tim Thomas, Ames – Boys’ Cross Country
Joe Toot, Nevada – Boys’ Track & Field

Aspiring New Official – Region
Brianne Byerly, Fayette – Northeast
Joe Fontenot, Stanwood – Southeast
Casey Pelzer, Atlantic – Southwest
Blake Reinke, Spirit Lake – Northwest
Raun Taylor, Des Moines – Central
Area Officials recognized for 25 Years of IHSAA Service: Mark Fuhrman, Paullina and Monte Tilgner, Orange City

Area Officials recognized for 15 Years of IHSAA Service:  Jake Anderson, Hull,  Chad Geerdes, Rock Rapids, Jim Poppema, Orange City, Jared Rahe, Lake Park, Brent Swart, Spencer and Mike Wedge, Sibley