State Wrestling Day Three

Des Moines Iowa — The 2020 Iowa State High School Wrestling Tournament moved into it’s final day on Saturday at the Wells Fargo Area Friday. The morning session at 10:00 am till 2:15 included the consolation semifinals and finals in all classes. The evening session with the Grand March and finals for all classes began at 6:00.

The area has been well represented by Siouxland, War Eagle and Lakes Conference individuals.

Visit TrackWrestling for updated brackets and information on tournament progress.


Class 2A Finals
Dylan Winkel of Central Lyon-G-LR dropped a 10-5 decision to finish 2nd

Class 1A Finals
Adam Allard of West Sioux – Hawarden dropped a 4-2 decision to finish 2nd. He was wrestling for a fourth state title

Class 1A Consolations
Mikey Baker of West Sioux – Hawarden won 3-2, then lost a 10-2 decision and then won by fall in 1:24 to finish 5th

Braden Graff of West Sioux – Hawarden won a 9-0 decision and then won 2-1 to finish 3rd

Cullen Koedam of West Sioux – Hawarden lost by fall in :40 seconds then won a 5-0 decision to finish 5th

Jace Mulder of Western Christian – lost a 9-2 decision then won by fall in :57 seconds to finish 5th

Teegan Tschampel of Hinton wrestling for 7th was pinned in 3:07 and finished 8th  

Tristan Mulder of Western Christian – won  a 16-6 MD then won 8-3 to finish 3rd

Carson Lynott of West Sioux – Hawarden won 6-0 then won by fall in 3:03 to finish 3rd

Derek Anderson of Hinton won 7-3 then won by fall in 6:05 to finish 3rd

Eli Van Ginkel of Western Christian –will wrestled for 7th and lost an 8-6 decision and finished 8th

Class 2A Consolation
Jonathon Burnette of Spirit Lake Park lost a 3-2 decision then won 3-2 to finish 5th

Blake Abrahamson of Okoboji/HMS lost 8-5 then lost by fall in 1:13 to finish 6th

Kalen Meyer of Central Lyon-G-LR lost 8-6 then dropped a 5-3 decision to finish 8th

Chris Van Der Brink of Boyden Hull-Rock Valley lost by fall in 3:40 then won by fall in 3:59 to finish 5th


Previous ArticleNext Article