Sharks at Lincoln Nebraska Saturday

The 1-0 Iowa Sharks travel to Lincoln, Nebraska to take on the 1-0 Capital City Crush this Saturday.

The local Iowa Sharks semi pro football team is  coming off an impressive defensive showing in a win last Saturday over the 2-0 Sioux Falls by a score of 13-6. The home opener at Sutherland   featured three blocked kicks by the Sharks.

The Crush is coming off a blowout victory over the Twin City Bulls out of Omaha, Nebraska by a score of 61-13.

The Sharks defense will have to be ready for the test of stopping what appears to be a potent Crush offense.


Siouxland Conference All Conference Golf Teams Named

The All Siouxland Conference Golf Teams have been announced. A trio of Sheldon Orabs are on the girl’s team this year they include Carrie Wahlstrom, Lindsey Nilles and Erin Able. They are joined by Alex Mankle and Kiley Wermersen of Okoboji. MOC Floyd Valley put Kalyn Root and Mallory Simmerlink on the first team. Sioux Center is represented by Kalee Den Herder and Carol Kooiker while Sibley Ocheyedan is represented by Jurnea Harberts.

Sibley Ocheyedan leads the boys All Siouxland Conference Golf Team with three players. They include Ty Hanna, Tristan Roetzel and Grant Juber. MOC Floyd Valley is represented by Ryan Christy and Mitch McDonough. Also named to the first team were James Halbur and Tyler Ohl of Okoboji. Rock Valley put Scott Westra and Luke Keble on the first team. Rounding out the first team is Brandon Snyder of West Lyon.

The girl’s team title went to MOC Floyd Valley this year by the narrowest of margins as they were two points better than Sheldon taking the title 83-81 when all the placing points were added up from all the conference meets this year.

MOC Floyd Valley made it a sweep of the team titles as the Dutch boys team outscored Sibley Ocheyedan 83-73 when all the points were totaled following all the conference meets this season.

Thursday is Qualifying Day For State Track and Field

It’s qualifying day today for the State Track and Field Meet. In Class 2A the Sheldon Orab boys and girls teams will be at Sioux Center. They’ll be joined by Alta Aurelia,Boyden Hull RockValley, Cherokee, Emmetsburg, E-LC, NSK/AR, Okoboji,SiouxCenter, Sioux Central, the South O’Brien girls team, Unity and Western Christian

In Class 1A area teams will gather at West Sioux. The field includes Central Lyon, Gehlen, G-LR, HMS, MMC, Remsen Union, Sibley Ocheyedan, the South O’Brien boy’s team, Spalding, Remsen St Mary’s, Trinity Christian,West Lyon and West Sioux.

In Class 3A area teams will qualify for state at Spirit Lake.  the field includes Algona, Heelan, LeMars, MOC Floyd Valley, Sergeant Bluff Luton, Spencer,Spirit Lake and Storm Lake.


MOC-Floyd Valley Boys Top Conference Golf Meet

The MOC-Floyd Valley Dutch took top honors at Tuesday’s Siouxland Conference Boys Golf Meet held at Emerald Hills at Okoboji.  The Dutch carded a team total of 160, four strokes ahead of 2nd place Rock Valley.

 Team Totals:

1 MOC-Floyd Valley              160

2 Rock Valley                          164

3 Okoboji                                  170

4 Sibley-Ocheyedan                170

5 West Lyon                            171

6 Sioux Center                        178

7 Boyden Hull                              184

8 Central Lyon                            189

9 Sheldon                                     198

GLR  No score


Sheldon Scores:

Tom Brown                         47

Peter Fonkert                       47

Garrett Lang                           52

Benjamin Lichty                           53

Trevor Fiddelke                     53

Brennan Vote                60



Final Conference Standings


1.MOC  Champions of Siouxland Conference 83

2. Sibley Ocheyedan   73

3. Okoboji  72

4. Rock Valley  68

5. West Lyon  51

6. Sioux Center  33

7. Boyden Hull  26

8. Sheldon/Central Lyon 22

10. GLR 0 (did not field complete team this season)


Sectionals Friday at Landsmeer in Orange City.

MOC-Floyd Valley Girls Card Low Score At Siouxland Conference Golf Meet

The MOC-Floyd Valley girls finished 4 strokes ahead of the Sheldon Orabs to capture the Siouxland Conference girls golf meet played Tuesday at Landsmeer in Orange City.


Team Results:

1 – MOC-FV – 198

2 – Sheldon – 202

3 – Okoboji – 208

4 – Boyden-Hull – 214

5 – Central Lyon – 215

6 – Sioux Center – 218

7 – Sibley-Ocheyedan – 223

8 – Rock Valley – 223

9 – West Lyon – 233

George-Little Rock did not have a complete team.


Individual Medalists:

1 – Mallory Simmelink – MOC-FV – 43

2 – Alex Mankle – Okoboji – 43

3 – Katherine Bomgaars – Sheldon – 48

4 – Kalee Den Herder – Sioux Center – 49

5 – Lindsey Nilles – Sheldon – 49

6 – Kiley Wermersen – Okoboji – 49


Sheldon Cards:

1 – Katherine Bomgaars – 48

2 – Lindsey Nilles – 49

3 – Erin Abele – 51

4 – Carrie Wahlstrom – 54

5 – Rachel Abele – 55

6 – Jenna Kruger – 56


Final Conference standings

1. MOC Floyd Valley 83

2. Sheldon 81

3. Sioux Center 68

4. Okoboji  60

5. Boyden Hull 48

6. Sibley Ocheyedan 36

7. Rock Valley 32

8. Central Lyon 29

9. West Lyon 11

10. George Little Rock 0 (did not field a full team this season)


Shawn Keizer Wins A.O. Duer Award

Shawn Keizer is the male recipient of the NAIA’s 2012 A.O. Duer Award.

Keizer has been a part of the Dordt College basketball program for three seasons and has played in all 96 games for the Defenders and has scored 543 points.

Keizer prepped at Western Christian High School in Hull and is a Sioux Center, Iowa native.  He is majoring in biology and plans to attend medical school upon graduating Dordt College.  He has a 3.96 cumulative grade point average and earned NAIA Daktronics Scholar-Athlete honors this season.  Keizer also completed a summer missionary trip with the Siouxland Tanzania Educational Medical Ministries in summer 2011 to Tanzania, Africa.

“Shawn had a storied high-school career as a player, but he also brought with him an understanding that education was paramount and the idea that becoming a medical doctor would allow him to use his gifts to assist others,” said Dordt head men’s coach, Ross Douma. “His mindset has since permeated our program as many of his teammates have followed his lead in trying to reach their potential as student-athletes.”

The Duer Award was established in 1967 to recognize a junior male and female student-athlete who has excelled in character, playing ability, and scholarship. The award is named after former NAIA executive director Al Duer, who constantly sought to promote an integration of education and sport in the NAIA, reflecting an ideal balance between work and play, body, mind and spirit. Candidates must achieve a minimum grade point average of 3.75 on a 4.0 scale.

Keizer is the first Dordt College student-athlete to win the Duer Award.

The 2011-2012 Dordt College Defender men’s basketball team won the GPAC regular season title and advanced to the NAIA Men’s Division II National Tournament quarterfinal round before ending its season with a 30-5 record.