MOC Floyd Valley Wins Siouxland Conference Girls Golf Meet Monday

moc_Floyd Valley logoRock Rapids Iowa — MOC Floyd Valley won the team title at the Siouxland Conference girls golf meet hosted by Central Lyon Monday. The Lady Dutch fired a team total 192 followed by Sioux Center at 208. Sheldon was one shot back at 209. West Lyon was next at 211 with Okoboji at 217 to round out the top five.

Medalist honors went to Emily VandeKop of Central Lyon. She won a tie breaker with Megan Grimes of Sibley Ocheyedan with both golfers shooting 43. Hannah Butler of Okoboji was next at 44. Abby Vander Laan of G-LR and Rainie Hoogendorn of West Lyon were both at 45. Jaden Zenor of MOC Floyd Valley fired a 46 to round out the top six. Sheldon was led by Sierra Seivert at 47.

For complete results click on the link below
Siouxland Conference Girls Golf C-Lyon 4-24-17

Sports Scores From Monday April 24th

golf 5Northwest Iowa — The start of another busy high school sports week featured golf, track and soccer on Monday.

Boys Soccer
MOC-Floyd Valley 1, Spirit Lake 0
Spencer 3, Sioux City, West 2 (PK 3-2)

Girls Soccer
Spirit Lake 1, MOC-Floyd Valley 0
Unity Christian 4, Sioux Center 1
Western Christian 2, Storm Lake 1

Okoboji Relays
Boys Team Totals
1. Spirit Lake 195
2. Sibley-Ocheyedan 124
3. Sioux Center 89
4. Okoboji 70
5. South O’Brien 46
6. Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn 30
7. Trinity Christian 20
8. Harris-Lake Park 11
9. Okoboji JV 2

Girls Team Totals
1. Okoboji 131
2. Sioux Center 99
3. Spirit Lake Park 96
4. Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn 90
5. Emmetsburg 60
6. Sibley-Ocheyedan 54
7. Trinity Christian 30

MOC-FV Takes Sibley Invite; Orabs 2nd

Another tough night of fierce competition in Siouxland Boys Conference Golf. Conditions started out quite windy for everyone but half way through the meet, the wind laid down a bit and turned out to be a decent evening for golf. MOC Floyd Valley held in there to take the top spot at Sibley.

As a team MOC-FV scored 155 and were lead by Trenton DeHaan and Justin Skipper who both brought in 36’s.

The Orabs were lead by Tyler Merley, who carded a 36 for the 5th place medalist, and as a team finished 2nd, shooting a 157.

Top medalist honors went to Davis Van Roekel of Boyden-Hull who went into the clubhouse with a 35.

For complete results click the link below:
Sibley Invite 4-24

Sports Schedule for Tuesday April 25th

golf 6Northwest Iowa — Orab golf and track teams are all in action Tuesday. In golf the girls are hosted by Sibley Ocheyedan with the boys hosted by Central Lyon. The Orab track teams are in Cherokee.

Boys Golf
Siouxland Conference meet hosted by Central Lyon
Western and Emmetsburg at E-LC

Girls Golf
Siouxland Conference meet hosted by Sibley Ocheyedan
Emmetsburg and E-LC at Western

Coed Golf
West Sioux at Unity
Remsen St Mary’s and West Sioux at Unity
MMC/RU at LeMars Gehlen
HMS at South O’Brien

Coed Track
Sheldon, LeMars, MOC-Floyd Valley, Spencer, Storm Lake, Unity Christian and Western Christian at Cherokee

Akron Westfield, BHRV, Central Lyon, G-LR and West Sioux at West Lyon

Boys Soccer
Sioux Center at Storm Lake
Western at Unity

Girls Soccer
Storm Lake at Sioux Center
Unity at Western

Northwestern Does Well at Sioux City Relays

NWCwrittenoutSioux City, Iowa — Northwestern College athletes recorded 16 top five finishes this weekend at the Sioux City Relays. The two-day event was held at Olsen Stadium in Sioux City, Iowa.

The women’s 4×100 relay was one of the highlights of day two as the team of Jahdai Dunk, Jana Vermeer of Rock Valley, Devin Bloemendaal and Anna Heusinkveld posted a new school record time of 49.03. They placed fourth out of 10 teams, second fastest among NAIA teams.

The men’s 4×100 relay finished second with a time of 43.10, less than a second in back of Morningside. Relay members include Brady Butters, Derrick Akers, Nathan Wedel and Leve TeBrink.

A total of seven relays, three for the women and four on the men’s side, placed in the top five. Others not mentioned prior; women’s sprint med (5th), women’s 4×400 (4th), men’s 4×200 (4th), men’s sprint medley (4th) and men’s 4×400 (3rd).

Katie Bosch and Jahdai Dunk were among the top individual finishers for the women on day two. Bosch placed third in the 1500m with a time of 4:34 and Dunk posted the fourth fastest time in the 100m (12.38).

For the men’s team, Peter Hollinger and Tanner Goetsch finished third and fourth in the 1500m in times of 3:58 and 4:00.

Cody Bauman of Inwood placed 3rd in the Shot Put with a throw of 51′ 11.75″.

Orab Boys set Team Record for 18 Holes at Unity Invite

Orange City Iowa — Congratulations to the Sheldon Boys Golf Team. They set an 18 Hole team scoring record in winning the Unity Invitational at Landsmeer in Orange City Saturday.

The Orabs won the meet shooting a 303 and winning a tie breaker against MOC Floyd Valley with the 5th Score. A beautiful day for golf saw the the players take advantage of the ideal weather and course conditions. The Orabs were led by Tyler Merley who medaled at 3 under 68. The 68 by Merley is also a record low individual score for 18 holes at Sheldon High School. Nick Bomgaars fired a 77 with Dominic Seivert and Koby Klatt at 79. Hunter Lang carded an 80 with Phil Cain at 96.

After Merley at 68 the rest of the top six included Cade Broek of Western and Tate Arends of MOC Floyd Valley both at 71. Ryan Fedders of Unity, Trenton De Haan of MOC Floyd Valley and Taylor Westphal of Western were all at 74 to round out the top six individuals.

The team totals had Sheldon on the tie breaker over MOC Floyd Valley with both at 303. Western was next at 308 with Unity at 309 to round out the top four.

For complete results click on the link below
2017Landsmeerinvite-Scores 4-22