Rowley Officially Sworn-In As District 1 State Senator

Des Moines, Iowa — Iowa State Senate District 1 officially has a new State Senator.

As a part of opening ceremonies for the 2022 session of the Iowa Legislature on Monday, Dave Rowley took the oath of office.

Rowley is a businessman from Spirit Lake who will serve the current District 1 for the remainder of the year. However, when the elections take place this fall, they will be for new districts that were drawn after the results of the 2020 census were made known. District 1 is currently made up of Lyon, Osceola, Dickinson, Clay, and Palo Alto counties.

For this coming fall’s election for people taking office in 2023, the district will be divided among three new districts — Lyon County will join Sioux and part of Plymouth as the new District 2. Osceola will join O’Brien, Buena Vista, and parts of Clay and Cherokee counties as the new District 3. And Dickinson county and the other part of Clay County will join four counties further east to form the new District 5.

Previous ArticleNext Article