You Can Request An Absentee Ballot, But It Won’t Be Sent Out Until After October 19th

Primghar, Iowa — Election day is only about a month away. And if you would like to vote early, you can send in a request form for an absentee ballot right now.

But O’Brien County Auditor Barb Rohwer tells us they won’t be able to send you your ballot right away.

She tells us that people have been able to request an absentee ballot for over a month already. Rohwer tells us you have about two weeks to request a mailed-out ballot.

She says you can also vote at your county auditor’s office.

She gives us some reminders for those voting absentee.

One thing that you cannot do is show up at the auditor’s office, ask for a ballot, and then take it home. If an absentee ballot needs to leave the auditor’s office, it can only do that via the US Postal Service. So if you want to have your ballot at home while you decide who to vote for or something like that, your only option is to request (via the official form) for a ballot to be mailed to you.

Again, some dates to remember:
October 19: The first day that auditors are allowed to mail out ballots and the first day you can vote in person at the auditor’s office
October 24: The last day that your mail-out request can be received in the auditor’s office
November 5: The auditor’s office will be open this Saturday for absentee in-person voting from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
November 7: The day before the election — voting in-person at the auditor’s office ends at the close of business.
November 8: Election day. Absentee ballots must be received by 8:00 p.m. Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

There are a few contested races at the state and federal levels. Our area is in Iowa’s 4th US House district, where incumbent Republican Randy Feenstra faces Democratic challenger Ryan Melton and Liberty Caucus member Bryan Jack Holder. Republican US Senator Chuck Grassley is facing off against Democrat Mike Franken.

As far as Statehouse candidates, no one running for districts covering the four northwesternmost counties in the state has an opponent.

In State House District 3, which covers northern portions of Plymouth County and southern portions of Sioux County, Republican Thomas Jeneary will be the only candidate on the ballot. In District 4, which covers all of Lyon County and northern portions of Sioux County, Republican Skyler Wheeler’s name will be the only one on the ballot. In District 5, which covers all of Osceola and O’Brien counties and portions of Cherokee and Buena Vista counties, the only name on the ballot will be Republican Zach Dieken’s.

For the State Senate, District 2’s Jeff Taylor — a Republican — does not need to run this year. His district covers all of Lyon and Sioux counties and parts of northern Plymouth County. In District 3, which covers all of Osceola, O’Brien, and Buena Vista counties and portions of Clay, and Cherokee counties, Republican Lynn Evans is unopposed in the election.



Local News