Matt McCarty and Steve Ryan Named Regional Co-Coaches of the Year

Waco Texas — Northwestern College head football coach Matt McCarty was named the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) NAIA Region 4 co-Coach of the Year as announced by the AFCA Tuesday.

McCarty transformed a three-win team in 2016 to a 10-win playoff team that reached the NAIA Football Championship series for the first time since 2014. From there, McCarty and his staff led the Red Raiders to a 55-7 road win over No.7 and previously unbeaten Langston (Okla.) in the first round, earning their first playoff win since 2006. Northwestern’s season came to an end in the quarterfinals with a loss at No.1 and defending champion Morningside.

Under McCarty, Northwestern finished second in the GPAC regular season with a 7-1 record, four wins better than the 2016 season. He coached 16 players who earned all-conference honors, including five who were named to the first team.

McCarty, who just completed his second year as the head of the Red Raider football program, served as the team’s defensive coordinator for 11 years (2005-15) and had a standout four-year playing career at NWC..

2017 AFCA Regional Coach of the Year Winners Football Bowl Subdivision
Region 1: Scott Frost, University of Central Florida (New Nebraska Head Coach)
Region 2: Kirby Smart, University of Georgia
Region 3: Paul Chryst, University of Wisconsin
Region 4: Matt Campbell, Iowa State University
Region 5: Jeff Tedford, California State University, Fresno

Football Championship Subdivision
Region 1: Al Bagnoli, Columbia University
Region 2: Brian Bohannon, Kennesaw State University & Mike London, Howard university (tie)
Region 3: John Grass, Jacksonville State University*
Region 4: Dave Cecchini, Valparaiso University
Region 5: Demario Warren, Southern Utah University

Division II
Region 1: Mark Maciejewski, Shippensburg University
Region 2: Pete Shinnick, University of West Florida
Region 3: Lee Owens, Ashland University
Region 4: Bill Maskill, Midwestern State University
Region 5: Tom Sawyer, Winona State University

Division III
Region 1: Jason Mangone, The College at Brockport
Region 2: Mike Sirianni, Washington & Jefferson College
Region 3: Tony Kunczewski, Berry College
Region 4: Troy Abbs, Trine University
Region 5: Rick Willis, Wartburg College

Region 1: Chris Oliver, Lindsey Wilson College*
Region 2: Kevin Donley, University of Saint Francis (Ind.)*
Region 3: Larry Wilcox, Benedictine College (Kan.)
Region 4: Steve Ryan, Morningside College & Matt McCarty, Northwestern College Co-Coaches of the year 
Region 5: Charlie Hall, Southern Oregon University

These winners will be honored at the American Football Coaches Awards, presented by Amway, broadcast live on the USA TODAY Sports Facebook page on Tuesday, January 9, 2018, at 7 p.m. CST. The awards show will air from the Crown Ballroom at the Charlotte Convention Center during the 2018 AFCA Convention.



Local News