Four Area Teams in Top Five of Latest Radio Iowa Boy’s Basketball Polls


Radio Iowa Boys High School Basketball Poll 1/28/13

Class 4A
1. Iowa City West (15-0), LW #1 vs Waterloo EastTue)
2. Bettendorf (15-0), LW #2 @ 3A #2 Assumption (Tue)
3. Dubuque Senior (14-1), LW #3 vs Xavier (Tue)
4. Sioux City East (16-0), LW #4 vs Sioux Falls Washington (Tue)
5. Western Dubuque (17-0), LW #5 @ Central DeWitt (Tue)
6. Sioux City North (14-1), LW #7 @ Sioux Falls O’Gorman (Tue)
7. DSM Hoover (11-2), LW #8 @ Johnston (Tue)
8. Ankeny (11-3), LW #5 vs Marshalltown (Tue)
9. North Scott (14-2), LW #10 vs Davenport North (Tue)
10.Urbandale (12-4), LW #9 vs Ames (Tue)




Class 3A
1. Vinton-Shellsburg (16-0), LW #1 @ Waterloo Columbus (Tue)
2. Davenport Assumption (12-3), LW #2 vs 4A #2 Bettendorf (Tue)
3. Dallas Center-Grimes (16-0), LW #3 vs ADM Adel (Tue)
4. Atlantic (15-1), LW #4 vs Harlan (Tue)
5. Creston (13-2), LW #6 vs Red Oak (Fri)
6. Centerville (13-1), LW #7 vs Oskaloosa (tonight)
7. Waverly-Shell Rock (12-4), LW #10 @ Oelwein (Fri)
8. MOC-Floyd Valley (14-3), LW #5 @ Rock Valley (Tue)
9. Carroll (11-2), LW (X) vs Boone (Tue)
10.Crestwood (13-2), LW #8 vs Waukon (Tue)


Class 2A
1. West Fork (17-0), LW #1@ Aplington-Parkersburg (tonight)
2. Western Christian (16-1), LW #2 vs Emmetsburg (Tue)
3. Cascade (17-0), LW #3 vs Maquoketa Valley (Tue)
4. Sheldon (17-1), LW #4 vs Sioux Center (Tue)
5. Nodaway Valley (16-1), LW #5 vs Mount Ayr (Tue)
6. West Branch (15-1), LW #6 vs Wilton (Tue)
7. IKM-Manning (17-1), LW #7 @ West Monona (tonight)
8. PCM Monroe (16-1), LW #8 vs North Polk (Tue)
9. North Cedar (14-3), LW #10 vs Iowa City Regina (Tue)
10.New Hampton (12-3), LW #9 vs Decorah (Tue)


Class 1A
1. Danville (18-0), LW #1 @ Burlington Notre Dame (Thur)
2. Boyden-Hull (14-3), LW #3 @ Okoboji (Tue)
3. Storm Lake St. Mary’s (15-1), LW #2 vs Remsen St. Marys (tonight)
4. Lone Tree (18-0), LW #4 @ WACO (Tue)
5. Harris-Lake Park (15-1), LW #5 @ Clay Central-Everly (Tue)
6. Dunkerton (16-0), LW #6 @ #9 North Tama (tonight)
7. Lawton-Bronson (19-0), LW #7 vs Woodbury Central (tonight)
8. Oakland (Riverside) (16-1), LW #8 @ Missouri Valley (Tue)
9. North Tama (18-1), LW #10vs #6 Dunkerton (tonight)
10.Murray (18-1), LW (X) vs Mormon Trail 2/5


Sports Schedule For Tuesday January 29th

basketballIt’s a full Siouxland Conference basketball schedule for Tuesday night highlighted by round two between Sioux Center and Sheldon. In the first boy’s match up in Sioux Center the Orabs pulled out a double overtime win. Sheldon will be the sight for the rematch.

Basketball Doubleheaders

Sioux Center at Sheldon
Broadcast on KIWA FM 105.3. Pregame for the girls at 6:05 for a 6:15 opening tip with the boy’s game to follow. We’ll stream from the website at

Sibley Ocheyedan at Central Lyon

Boyden Hull at Okoboji

MOC Floyd Valley at Rock Valley



G-LR at West Lyon

South O’Brien at HMS

MMC at West Sioux

Akron Westfield at Trinity

Spalding at Gehlen

Sioux Falls Christian at Unity

Emmetsburg at Western

Harris Lake Park at Clay Central Everly



MOC Floyd Valley and West Monona at Sergeant Bluff Luton

Worthington at Sibley Ocheyedan



Heemstra to Join Northwestern Softball

Northwesstern logoJoanna Heemstra of Rock Valley has signed a letter of intent to continue her softball career at Northwestern next fall.

A multi-sports standout, Heemstra is a four-year letter winner for the Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley High School softball team heading into her final season. The 5’9” pitcher and infielder earned third team all-state honors after leading her team to a 23-9 record in 2012. Heemstra posted a team-best 16-4 record with a 2.26 earned run average, striking out 90 batters in 136.1 innings pitched. On offense, Heemstra hit .269 with five doubles and 13 walks. She earned all-conference honors for the second straight year and has a career record of 34-9 on the mound.

Heemstra is a member of the National Honor Society and plans to major in nursing at Northwestern. She is the daughter of Greg and Pat.

“We are very pleased to have Joanna join us on campus next year,” commented head coach Chris Nachtigall. “She is a quality young lady who excels both on the field and in the classroom. Joanna has had an outstanding career playing for a very strong high school program. She brings excellent athleticism to our team, both offensively and defensively.”

Jana Vermeer to Join Northwestern Track Program

007Jana Vermeer of Rock Valley has signed a letter of intent to continue her track and field career at Northwestern College next year.

Vermeer is a four-year letter-winner for the Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley High School track and field team. The 5’3” sprinter is a three-time all-conference selection who competes in the 100m, 4×100 relay and sprint medley. Vermeer qualified for state as a member of the 4×100 and sprint medley relays last year. She owns a personal best of 12.69 in the 100m. An outstanding student, Vermeer is a member of the National Honor Society. She is the daughter of Al and Ruth.

“We are excited to have a quality sprinter like Jana join our team,” commented head coach Scott Bahrke. “Her competitiveness and outstanding work ethic are outstanding attributes and will elevate the performances of those athletes around her.”

Winners Decided at Sheldon KC Free Throw Contest

KC Free Throw Winners--2013The Sheldon Knights of Columbus held their annual free throw contest Sunday, January 29th at the Wansink Center Gymnasium on the Village Northwest Unlimited campus.

Seventeen boys and girls, ages 10-14, braved poor weather conditions and showed up to test their free-throw shooting skills. Those boys and girls who made the most free throws were crowned champions in their respective age divisions.

In the boys 11 year old group first place went to Trey Iedema followed by Nathan Holtrop and Jacob Tutje.

In the boys 12 year old group first place went to Bryant Dykstra followed by Andy Fjeld and Bryce Schott. The boys 13 year old winner was Tyler Johnson with Connor Vaselaar first in the 14 year old age group.

Girls age 10 went to Kayla Dykstra followed by Madison Van Meeteren. 11 year old winner was Hanna Uhl. The 12 year old winner was Cassidy Bart and the 13 year old winner was Majestic Holtrop.

First place finishers will move on to the district level of competition which will be held at the Wansink Center Gymnasium on the Village Northwest Unlimited campus in Sheldon on Sunday, February 10th. The shooting contest will begin at 1:00 pm, with the doors opening at 12:30 pm. Each contestant will shoot 25 free throws, with the winner advancing to regional competition.

Participants pictured include Front Row (L-R):
Kayla Dykstra, Cassidy Bart, Hannah Uhl, Madison Van Meeteren, Jacob Tutje,
Trey Iedema, Nathan Holtrop

Back Row (L-R)
Andy Fjeld, Majestic Holtrop, Bryce Schott, Bryant Dykstra, Connor Vaselaar,
Tyler Johnson

Sports Schedule For January 28th


A light Monday varsity sports schedule got a little bit lighter as HMS and MMC have re scheduled their basketball make up date to Thursday January 31st. A wrestling triangular features MMC and HMS at Kingsley Pierson.

Basketball Doubleheader

HMS at MMC (ppd to 1/31)

Wrestling Triangular

MMC and HMS at Kingsley Pierson