Jana Vermeer to Join Northwestern Track Program

007Jana Vermeer of Rock Valley has signed a letter of intent to continue her track and field career at Northwestern College next year.

Vermeer is a four-year letter-winner for the Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley High School track and field team. The 5’3” sprinter is a three-time all-conference selection who competes in the 100m, 4×100 relay and sprint medley. Vermeer qualified for state as a member of the 4×100 and sprint medley relays last year. She owns a personal best of 12.69 in the 100m. An outstanding student, Vermeer is a member of the National Honor Society. She is the daughter of Al and Ruth.

“We are excited to have a quality sprinter like Jana join our team,” commented head coach Scott Bahrke. “Her competitiveness and outstanding work ethic are outstanding attributes and will elevate the performances of those athletes around her.”

Winners Decided at Sheldon KC Free Throw Contest

KC Free Throw Winners--2013The Sheldon Knights of Columbus held their annual free throw contest Sunday, January 29th at the Wansink Center Gymnasium on the Village Northwest Unlimited campus.

Seventeen boys and girls, ages 10-14, braved poor weather conditions and showed up to test their free-throw shooting skills. Those boys and girls who made the most free throws were crowned champions in their respective age divisions.

In the boys 11 year old group first place went to Trey Iedema followed by Nathan Holtrop and Jacob Tutje.

In the boys 12 year old group first place went to Bryant Dykstra followed by Andy Fjeld and Bryce Schott. The boys 13 year old winner was Tyler Johnson with Connor Vaselaar first in the 14 year old age group.

Girls age 10 went to Kayla Dykstra followed by Madison Van Meeteren. 11 year old winner was Hanna Uhl. The 12 year old winner was Cassidy Bart and the 13 year old winner was Majestic Holtrop.

First place finishers will move on to the district level of competition which will be held at the Wansink Center Gymnasium on the Village Northwest Unlimited campus in Sheldon on Sunday, February 10th. The shooting contest will begin at 1:00 pm, with the doors opening at 12:30 pm. Each contestant will shoot 25 free throws, with the winner advancing to regional competition.

Participants pictured include Front Row (L-R):
Kayla Dykstra, Cassidy Bart, Hannah Uhl, Madison Van Meeteren, Jacob Tutje,
Trey Iedema, Nathan Holtrop

Back Row (L-R)
Andy Fjeld, Majestic Holtrop, Bryce Schott, Bryant Dykstra, Connor Vaselaar,
Tyler Johnson

Sports Schedule For January 28th


A light Monday varsity sports schedule got a little bit lighter as HMS and MMC have re scheduled their basketball make up date to Thursday January 31st. A wrestling triangular features MMC and HMS at Kingsley Pierson.

Basketball Doubleheader

HMS at MMC (ppd to 1/31)

Wrestling Triangular

MMC and HMS at Kingsley Pierson


Orab Boys Win in Dramatic Fashion Against Sergeant Bluff Luton

Orab-LogoThe Sheldon Orab Basketball Teams hosted Sergeant Bluff Luton in a non conference doubleheader Saturday night. The Warriors won the girls contest 48-40 while the Orabs won a hard fought boys contest 63-61.

In the girls game Sergeant Bluff Luton opened up a 10-8 first quarter lead only to see Sheldon pull ahead 20-18 at halftime. At the end of the third the Warriors were back in front 29-27 and converted some key free throws down the stretch to hold off the Sheldon 48-40.

Amber Schubert scored a game high 20 points for the Warriors. Sheldon got a team high 17 from Krista Bousema with Abby Provost hitting for a dozen. With the win Sergeant Bluff Luton goes to 6-9 on the season with the Orabs standing at 5-13.

In the boys game it was a battle throughout as the Warriors opened a 17-8 first quarter lead. Sheldon found their stride towards the end of the half and pulled to within 31-26 at intermission. At the end of three Sheldon had built a 51-46 lead only to see Sergeant Bluff Luton take a 61-60 lead with the Orabs looking at a final length of the court possession with: 08 seconds left to play. With the final seconds ticking off the clock Dallas Ennema hit a three-pointer from the left corner to give Sheldon the win 63-61.

Ennema finished with a game high 20 points. James Gradert hit for 18 points with Nate Oostra adding 11. Sergeant Bluff Luton had three players in double figures led by Thomas Wisecup with 17, Nate Glisar with 16 and Kyle Ten Napel who hit for 13 on the night.

With the win Sheldon improves to 17-1 on the season while Sergeant Bluff Luton stands at 7-9. Up next for the Orabs will be a return to the Siouxland Conference on Tuesday as they play host to Sioux Center.

High School Basketball Scores From January 26th

Sheldon, Iowa — A 3-point bucket at the buzzer lifted the Sheldon Orab boys to a 63-61 win over Sergeant Bluff-Luton in non-conference basketball Saturday night at the O-rena.  The Sheldon girls lost to SB-L 48-40.  In other basketball action Saturday………….



Sergeant Bluff-Luton 48, Sheldon 40

Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn 49, Sibley-Ocheyedan 47

Central Lyon 68, Trinity Christian 35

Sioux City Heelan 70, Western Christian 68



Sheldon 63, Sergeant Bluff-Luton 61

Sibley-Ocheyedan 47, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn 39

Central Lyon 56, Trinity Christian 48

Western Christian 72, Sioux City Heelan 66

Nighthawks Claim Siouxland Conference Tournament Wrestling Title

wrestling gearBoyden Hull Rock Valley claimed the team title at this years Siouxland Conference Wrestling Tournament hosted by Sioux Center Friday night. The Nighthawks totaled 248 team points followed by Sibley Ocheyedan at 163. Okoboji was third at 151 followed by West Lyon at 137 and MOC Floyd Valley at 134.5  to round out the top five. Central Lyon George Little Rock was next at 117 followed by Sioux Center at 110 and Sheldon South O’Brien at 76 team points.

Here are the individual top five at each weight class

106 — 1. Samuel Klarenbeek, BH/RV, 2. Brady Jones, Okoboji, 3. Treyton Virtue, CL-G-LR, 4. Brett Van Beek, SC, 5. Seth Zomermaand, Sioux Center

113 — 1. Cristian Lopez, SC, 2. Kyle Vierck, WL, 3. Tyler Rupp, MOC, 4. Wade Dimmitt, SO, 5. Devin Van Beek, BH/RV

120 –– 1. Efrain Anzua, MOC, 2.Maxwell Klarenbeek, BH/RV, 3. Ryan Bolster, 4. Ty Steenhoven, SC, 5. Tanner Robertson, CL-G-LR

126 — 1. Colby McIntire, CL-G-LR, 2. Kaleb Vanderpool, Okoboji, 3. James Dubbeldee, WL, 4. Alex Hash, BH/RV, 5. Josh Gorter, SSO

132 –– 1. Austin Gregg, BH/RV, 2. Zach Sauers, WL, 3. Noah Bouse, Okoboji, 4. Dustin Freeman, SSO, Josh Olvera, SC

138 — 1. Elijah Dahl, MOC, 2. Cole Hieronimus, SO, 3. Zack Konz, BH/RV, 4. Jon Mitchell, Okoboji, 5. Bodie Osborn, CL-G-LR

145 — 1. Tyler Reck, SO, 2. Taylor Cody, Okoboji, 3. Seth Hoogendoom, BH/RV, 4. Zach Fugitt, CL-G-LR, 5. Taeric Ezzell, WL

152 — 1. Dylon Von’t Hof, SC, 2. Hunter Berkenpas, BH/RV, 3. Jordan Hanna, Okoboji, 4. Tyler O’Connor, SO, 5. Brian Klein, SSO

160 –– 1. Ethan Achterhoff, MOC, 2. John VerMulm, BH/RV, 3. Darin Greenfield, SSO, 4. Ryan Clark, Okoboji, 5. Jed Van’t Hof, WL

170 — 1. Chris DeNoble, SO, 2. Mitchell Sandbulte, SC, 3. Alex Waagmeester, CL-G-LR, 4. Benjamin Kramer, WL, 5. Trevor Huss, MOC

182 –– 1. Dallas Rozeboom, BH/RV, 2. Dylan Brockshus, SO, 3. Justin Richarson, Okoboji, 4. Cody Doherty, WL, 5. Stefan Kinsinger, MOC

195 — 1. Ty Koldenhoven, BH/RV, 2. Travis Vander Streek, SL, 3. Jordan Schemmel, WL, 4. Jose Olvera, SO, 5. Brytton Kelleher, SSO

220 — 1. Bryce Kelleher, SSO, 2. Tyler Dolislager, BH/RV, 3. Nic Salinas, SO, 4. Alex Drilling, MOC, 5. Dustin Brown, WL

285 — 1. Gregory Palma, BH/RV, 2. Brody Koerselman, MOC, 3. Nolan Geerdes, CL-G-LR, 4. Houston Coleman, SO, 5. Brandon Marzano, Okoboji