Boyden Hull Rock Valley Falls in Consolation Opener

nighthawk logoA late rally by the Nighthawks came up short as they fell to Clarke 12-9 in the first round of the Class 3A State Softball consolations at Fort Dodge.

The Nighthawks will play Mt Vernon for seventh place at 4:00 this afternoon.In their consolation opener Mt Vernon downed Crestwood 2-1. We’ll bring you the coverage on KIWA FM 105.3 with pregame at 3:50 for a scheduled 4pm first pitch. We’ll stream from the website as well at

All Siouxland Conference Baseball Teams Out

Siouxland Conference logoNorthwest Iowa — All Siouxland Conference baseball teams are out. Okoboji placed four players on the team including Holt Hunziker, Matt Eckard, Houston Hawkins and Noah Bouse. MOC Floyd Valley had Ben De Boer and Mitchell Yaw . Sioux Center is represented by Christian Rozeboom and Blake Kamerman. Boyden Hull Rock Valley had Wyatt Cannegeiter and Bryce Van Beek named to the first team. Jordan Van Beek and Chase Grotewold represent West Lyon. Also named to the first team were Nic Lutmer and Riley Van Wyhe of Central Lyon and Logan Heibult of Sibley Ocheyedan.

Sheldon had a pair of juniors named to the second team. They were Payton Radke and Ross Van Kley. Senior Travis Buyert earned honorable mention accolades. For a complete list of this year’s teams click on the link below.


All-Conference Siouxland Baseball 2015

Siouxland All Conference Softball Teams Announced

Siouxland Conference logoNorthwest Iowa — The Siouxland Conference All Conference Softball teams are out. Named to the first team were CJ Van Der Zwaag, Courtney Schafer, Cassie Van Beek and Sammy Blum of Boyden Hull Rock Valley. Madison Beaver, Megan Cleveringa and Jessica Harald of  Sioux Center are first teamers. West Lyon had Chaydon Metzger and Kami Te Grootenhuis named to the team. George Little Rock Central Lyon had Ivy Sieperda and Ashley Boer named to the first team. Sheldon is represented by Sami Kleinwolterink and Kati Kneifl with Okoboji saw Anna Seeger and Emily Wintz named to the first team. For a complete listing of the All Conference teams click on the link below.


All-Conference Siouxland Softball 2015

Center Point-Urbana Over The Nighthawks

nighthawk logoFort Dodge, Iowa — #8 Center Point-Urbana topped the  #7 Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley Nighthawks 10-5 in the quarterfinal round of Class 3A State Softball.

The Nighthawks got on the board quickly in the 1st inning. Courtney Schafer reached on an error to right field, then CJ Vander Zwaag would launch one over the center field wall for the 2-run home-run to make it 2-0 after one inning of play. In the top of the 2nd inning, Sam Blum would drive in Taylor Richter to make the score 3-0. In the bottom of the 3rd inning, with a 5-0 lead, Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley would see their score start to dwindle as Olivia Brecht for Center Point-Urbana would lift one high down the left field line for the solo home-run. 3 more runs would come into score making it 5-4 in favor of Boyden Hull/Rock Valley after 3 innings of work. The Stormin’ Pointers would keep piling it on with three more runs in the 4th, and 3 more in the 6th, and that would be your final with Center Point-Urbana getting the win 10-5.

CJ Van Der Zwaag would take the loss, going 6 innings, giving up 12 hits, striking out 2, and adding 7 earned runs to her name.

Samantha Croghan would get the win for Center Point-Urbana. In 7 innings of work she would give up 6 hits, strike out 7, with 2 earned runs against her.

The Nighthawks drop to 31-4 on the season and play again at noon on Wednesday in Fort Dodge against unranked Clarke who fell to #1 Solon 18-0 in 3 innings. We’ll have the game for you on KIWA FM 105.3, 11:50 pregame, 12:00 pm first pitch, and streaming from the world wide web at

Center Point-Urbana improves to 30-13 on the season and faces Solon on Thursday.