Harris Incumbents’ Names Drawn From Hat

Sibley, Iowa — Last week’s election could not decide who would be the Mayor of Harris or who would sit in one of the council seats.
vote voting ballot
Since both races ended in ties, the only way to decide who would serve was for the Osceola County Board of Supervisors to draw names from a hat.

Incumbent Harris Mayor Greg Spaethe was the only candidate who filed papers to be on the ballot. He received 21 votes. But so did write-in Dean Phillips. Council incumbent Amy Muftah’s name was the only one on the ballot. She got 18 votes. But so did write-in Jeff Loring.

During this week’s regular Osceola County Board of Supervisor’s meeting, both incumbents’ names were drawn, so Spaethe and Muftah will continue to serve.

Previous ArticleNext Article