Northwest Iowa Primary Candidates Set

Northwest Iowa — The filing period for the upcoming June Primary Election has come and gone for county positions, so we can tell you who is running.

In O’Brien County, there are contested races for the Republican nomination for Supervisor District 1, where Jim Thomas is running against incumbent Timothy Overmire; Supervisor District 2, where Barbara Rohwer is running against incumbent John Steensma; and Supervisor District 3 where Shanelle Matus is running against incumbent Nancy McDowell. Rohwer is the current County Auditor. Running unopposed for the nomination to fill her position is Rhea Schmalen. Sheriff Bruce Devereaux is unopposed for the Republican nomination for his position. At the county level, no one from the Democratic or Libertarian parties filed for any position.

In Osceola County, there will be only one contested race, and that is for the Republican nomination for Supervisor District 5, where Incumbent Ed Jones will face a challenge from Jeff Loring. No Democrats or Libertarians filed for any position.

In Sioux County, no Democrats or Libertarians filed either. There are two contested races for Republican nominations. One is the position of Supervisor District 1, where incumbent John Degan and challengers Mark Pottebaum and Stanley Hoekstra have filed. The other is for County Auditor, where appointed incumbent Joe Van Tol is running against Ryan Dokter.

In Lyon County, no Libertarians or Democrats filed, and the only contested race will be for Lyon County Sheriff. Incumbent Stewart Vander Stoep faces a challenge from fellow Republican, State Trooper Brian Hilt.

At the state and national levels, Congressman Randy Feenstra faces Republican challenger Kevin Virgil for the chance to square off against Democrat Ryan Melton in November.

Senator Chuck Grassley’s term doesn’t end until January 2029, and Senator Joni Ernst’s term doesn’t end until 2027.

District 2 State Senator Jeff Taylor is unopposed by either party. District 4 State Representative Skyler Wheeler is also unopposed by either party. District 3 State Representative Thomas Jeneary is unopposed in the Primary but will face Democratic candidate Emma Bouza in November. District 5 State Representative Zach Dieken is unopposed by either party.

The Primary Election will be on Tuesday, June 4th.