Powell Named Semifinalist For Campbell Trophy

Sean Powell has been named a semifinalist for the 2019 William V. Campbell Trophy, presented by Mazda, announced by the National Football Foundation earlier this fall.

Powell, a senior linebacker from Sioux Falls, S.D., is one of 185 semifinalists from all football divisions selected by the National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame committee. Powell is one of seven players from the NAIA to be named to the list, including four from the Great Plains Athletic Conference; Tyler Wagner (DWU), Bryce Cooney (Doane) and Joel Katzer (Morningside).

This award recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

A three-year starter, Powell has earned all-conference accolades the last two years. He is a two-time NAIA Scholar Athlete, team captain and a chemistry major.