Corn Promotion Board Election Is July 18th

Northwest Iowa — Area corn producers will be heading to their local ISU Extension Office next week to submit their ballot for representatives for the Iowa Corn Promotion Board.

According to a relase from the Iowa Corn Promotion Board, the elections will be held July 18th for Crop Reporting Districts 1,3, 6 and 9. Crop Reporting District 1 is of concern to area producers, since it is comprised of O’Brien, Osceola, Lyon, Sioux, Buena Vista, Clay, Cherokee, Dickinson, Emmet, Plymouth and Pocahontas Counties.

Iowa corn farmers elect their peers to serve on the Iowa Corn Promotion Board to oversee the investment of funds generated by the Iowa Corn Checkoff.  The Board’s primary activities include domestic and foreign market development, research into new and value-added corn uses, and education about the corn industry.  Representatives on the Iowa Corn Promotion Board Serve a 3-year term.  Candidates for District 1 representative in the July 18th election are Kelly Nieuwenhuis of O’Brien County, and John Schott of Pocahontas County.

Anyone who has produced and marketed 250 bushels of corn or more in Iowa in the previous marketing year is eligible to vote in the election. Results of the election will be made public on July 21st.

The Iowa Corn Promotion Board works to develop and defend markets, fund research, and provide education about corn and corn products. For more information, visit

Previous ArticleNext Article