Former HMS Educator Nominated For Statewide Recognition

Iowa — A former Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn educator has been nominated for statewide recognition for her work.

The organization, “School Administrators of Iowa” has named Katy Evenson, executive director of Educational Services, Media and Technology for Northwest Area Education Agency, as a nominee for the 2024 Iowa Central Office Administrator of the Year award.

The organization’s executive director, Lisa Remy says, “We are pleased to recognize district and organizational leaders who are committed to excellence in education.”

The organization tells us that during her time in education, Evenson has been passionate about teachers and helping them be the best they can be. She has taken many roles at the state, AEA, and local levels, guiding educators in new state initiatives like the Iowa Core Curriculum, and the implementation of Authentic Intellectual Work. She continues to advocate for educators and students in the state of Iowa.

They tell us Evenson has been a consultant, instructional coach, assistant director, and most recently, executive director at Northwest Area Education Agency where she started working in 2003. Before joining Northwest Area Education Agency, Evenson was the Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn Community School District curriculum coordinator. Prior to working in education, she was a computer programmer and administrative assistant for New York Life Insurance.

Nominated for the award by her peers, Evenson will be recognized by the association at its Annual Conference in August 2024, along with Central DeWitt Community School District Assistant Superintendent Jen Vance who was recently selected as the recipient.

School Administrators of Iowa, a statewide organization founded in 1987, represents more than 2,000 Iowa educational administrators. They tell us their mission is to enhance PreK-12 education through effective leadership by school administrators. This is the same organization that recently named Jason Groendyke of the Sheldon Community School District as Iowa Elementary Principal of the Year.